![]() |
|
|
|||
Has the rule been recently rewrote? I see these 4 listed on here many times yet the rule says pc in the fc is required. Has the rule been altered to lead to this wording as I know there is casebook play that says it is not required?
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. And the 2012 version: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. We should amend the "four requirements" to three: 1. PC in FC 2. A last to touch in FC 3. A first to touch in BC
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with you (and always have) that the best thing to do is just reword the defintion of TC foul so that you can have a TC foul without TC, just like you can have a PC foul without PC. |
|
|||
Under the current wording of the rule this is not backcourt. However the casebook says it is.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
This is not the only place where the casebook adds things which are not in the rulebook.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
The 3 points is how I read the current rule but the casebook seems to not agree. Is the casebook play old? |
|
|||
They have told us more than one time to rule other plays as they were before team control change regardless of the apparent wording of the rule.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
The only thing that has changed is the team control only applies to an offensive foul during a throw in. At one time, free throws would have been shot. If the offense fouls during a throw in, it is a TC foul and no free throws shot.
Example: During a throw in, A1 sets an illegal screen on B1. Previously if B was in the bonus they would have shot free throws. Now they do not. It is penalized as a TC foul. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
?? back court violation | bbcowboy | Basketball | 15 | Tue Dec 14, 2010 03:54pm |
back court violation | tag46176 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Nov 02, 2008 03:12am |
over and back violation? | BEAREF | Basketball | 11 | Sat Jan 20, 2007 04:01pm |
back court violation or not????? | jritchie | Basketball | 11 | Wed Sep 22, 2004 11:22pm |
Back court violation? | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 7 | Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:54am |