The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 03:00pm
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
In Referee Mag this month...

... page N15,
Losting balance on a throw-in

Play: A1 is holding the ball for a throw-in. Prior to releasing it, A1 loses his or her balance, reaches out and touches B2 who is standing inbounds and guarding A1 on the throw-in. A regains balance and completes the throw-in. Is the throw-in legal?
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 03:11pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
... page N15,
Losting balance on a throw-in

Play: A1 is holding the ball for a throw-in. Prior to releasing it, A1 loses his or her balance, reaches out and touches B2 who is standing inbounds and guarding A1 on the throw-in. A regains balance and completes the throw-in. Is the throw-in legal?
According to 9-2-10 Note: no
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 03:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
Citation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
According to 9-2-10 Note: no
The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds
area or a player inbounds before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent
in this situation may legally touch or grasp the ball.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 03:17pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
... page N15,
Losting balance on a throw-in

Play: A1 is holding the ball for a throw-in. Prior to releasing it, A1 loses his or her balance, reaches out and touches B2 who is standing inbounds and guarding A1 on the throw-in. A regains balance and completes the throw-in. Is the throw-in legal?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds
area or a player inbounds before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent
in this situation may legally touch or grasp the ball.
Violation

Last edited by OKREF; Sun Dec 16, 2012 at 03:22pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing Error - To Correct or Not to Correct cford Basketball 15 Sat Feb 21, 2009 09:49am
which is correct.... JohnBark Basketball 2 Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:36am
did i do this correct? JohnBark Basketball 22 Wed Oct 20, 2004 12:22pm
To correct or not . . . Todd VandenAkker Basketball 45 Tue Oct 10, 2000 07:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1