Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF
Violation if A1, thrower, makes contact inbounds with B1. If B1 makes contact with A1, intentional. The new intentional foul rule really makes watch and see who initiates the contact.
|
I believe the new rule says CONTACT with the thrower is an intentional foul. Before, it didn't matter who initiated the contact, but only if the contact was across the plane....the contact was automatically an intentional foul. They only removed the plane boundary from the equation.
NFHS: "When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul."
Making contact is not the same as causing contact.
Also, that interpretation was written in the context of the defender slapping the wrist/arm of the thrower, but similar such statements (see LGP and a player with a foot OOB) have often been read as being absolute and applying to all contexts.
I actually do NOT like it. I think that if the ball is across the line and the ball is fair play, then a foul that occurs on the attempt to legally play the ball should be a normal foul...the rule change was a bad rule change.