The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2012, 03:27pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Criteria for backcourt violation:

Team control (and player control established at some point if coming from a throw-in)
Ball achieves a front court position
Team in control is last to touch the ball when the ball had a frontcourt status
Team in control is the first to touch the ball after it's achieved a backcourt status.

With that, do you have a violation? Reading up on player position may help with your question.
I say Yes a Violation has occured...While it takes 2 feet and the ball for a dribbler to establish FC..it only takes either the ball or one foot or both feet to be in the BC for a violation after establishing FC status.

Now, Did I get the call right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2012, 03:41pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
I say Yes a Violation has occured...While it takes 2 feet and the ball for a dribbler to establish FC..it only takes either the ball or one foot or both feet to be in the BC for a violation after establishing FC status.

Now, Did I get the call right?
Correct
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2012, 04:24pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Correct
Thanks much appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 05, 2012, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
I say Yes a Violation has occured...While it takes 2 feet and the ball for a dribbler to establish FC..it only takes either the ball or one foot or both feet to be in the BC for a violation after establishing FC status.

Now, Did I get the call right?
Same sitch, instead of the foot touching the division line, the ball is dribbled on the line?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2012, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
same call
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2012, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
Another spin... A1 is now in FC and B1 bats ball into the air toward A's BC. A1 goes back court and catches it prior to the ball touching the court... What now? Do we go with the rule or the Interpretation?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2012, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
Another spin... A1 is now in FC and B1 bats ball into the air toward A's BC. A1 goes back court and catches it prior to the ball touching the court... What now? Do we go with the rule or the Interpretation?
I'm going to, in THIS case, judge that B1 established control during that brief bat.

So there is no conflict.

Even if I didn't do that, I'm going with the rule because, with the conflict, the interpretation doesn't even make common sense....from the point of view of whether it is "right" for that to be a violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2012, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
Camron, I like your reasoning. I've always wondered what I would tell a coach if they just so happened to have read that Interp. Now if it is ever questioned I can say " Coach, to quote Mr. Rust..your player DID briefly possess that ball."
Good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 07:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
Camron, I like your reasoning. I've always wondered what I would tell a coach if they just so happened to have read that Interp. Now if it is ever questioned I can say " Coach, to quote Mr. Rust..your player DID briefly possess that ball."
Good enough for me.
But, if you're working with a shot clock ....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 12, 2012, 08:08am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
Camron, I like your reasoning. I've always wondered what I would tell a coach if they just so happened to have read that Interp. Now if it is ever questioned I can say " Coach, to quote Mr. Rust..your player DID briefly possess that ball."
Good enough for me.
I would simply tell him the rule. He won't have time to tell me about the interp
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
backcourt violation, nfhs


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW NFHS backcourt violation rule Nevadaref Basketball 23 Fri Oct 07, 2011 01:05pm
backcourt? jr Basketball 3 Sat Mar 11, 2006 09:43am
Backcourt or not? assignmentmaker Basketball 38 Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:05pm
Backcourt??? whistleone Basketball 3 Sat Mar 01, 2003 01:11am
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) KWH Football 27 Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1