The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2012, 03:00pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 958
NFHS Backcourt

Saw this play yesterday (MS Girls).

A1 dribbles and stops with one foot in front court and one foot in back court.

A1 passes to A2 in back court.

Trail calls an emphatic backcourt violation.

I was under the impression ball -and- both feet had to be in the front court for the pass to A2 to be a violation.
__________________
Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. me
Games officiated - Basketball: 305, Softball: 50.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2012, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,781
Both you and the official are wrong (as described).

You: The "three points rule" applies only to a dribble from the BC to the FC. Since the dribble had ended, that rule doesn't apply.

Official: If a player is touching the BC and the FC, the player is in the BC. So, a pass to another player in the BC would be legal. That said, if A1 lifted the foot that was in the BC, A1 is now in the FC, and a pass to the BC would be illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2012, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
Saw this play yesterday (MS Girls).

A1 dribbles and stops with one foot in front court and one foot in back court.

A1 passes to A2 in back court.

Trail calls an emphatic backcourt violation.

I was under the impression ball -and- both feet had to be in the front court for the pass to A2 to be a violation.
Assuming A1's foot remained in contact with the backcourt until the ball was released, you would be correct (that it was not a violation).

However, if A1 (who was holding the ball) were to lift that backcourt foot, they would instantly gain frontcourt status. Such a lifted foot gains frontcourt status not by touching in the frontcourt but because the other foot is in the frontcourt and the lifted foot is not touching the backcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2012, 07:10pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Assuming A1's foot remained in contact with the backcourt until the ball was released, you would be correct (that it was not a violation).

However, if A1 (who was holding the ball) were to lift that backcourt foot, they would instantly gain frontcourt status. Such a lifted foot gains frontcourt status not by touching in the frontcourt but because the other foot is in the frontcourt and the lifted foot is not touching the backcourt.
Camron:

When I checked the case book, I found Case 9.9.1 which you've described above.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jenkins
Both you and the official are wrong (as described).
Thanks for the explanation/clarification, Bob.
__________________
Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. me
Games officiated - Basketball: 305, Softball: 50.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2012, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That said, if A1 lifted the foot that was in the BC, A1 is now in the FC, and a pass to the BC would be illegal.
And it would also be a violation if A1 put that foot back down in the BC.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 29, 2012, 10:40am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,419
He's Back ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
Thanks for the explanation/clarification, Bob.
Always listen to bob.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2012, 02:42pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 579
Backcourt Violation

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
And it would also be a violation if A1 put that foot back down in the BC.
Just to add another slight twist...A establishes FC and under heavy pressure from B starts to dribble away, whereby A's right foot touches the division line or is in the back court but his other foot and the ball remains in FC?

Backcourt Violation??
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2012, 02:52pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Just to add another slight twist...A establishes FC and under heavy pressure from B starts to dribble away, whereby A's right foot touches the division line or is in the back court but his other foot and the ball remains in FC?

Backcourt Violation??
Criteria for backcourt violation:

Team control (and player control established at some point if coming from a throw-in)
Ball achieves a front court position
Team in control is last to touch the ball when the ball had a frontcourt status
Team in control is the first to touch the ball after it's achieved a backcourt status.

With that, do you have a violation? Reading up on player position may help with your question.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2012, 03:27pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Criteria for backcourt violation:

Team control (and player control established at some point if coming from a throw-in)
Ball achieves a front court position
Team in control is last to touch the ball when the ball had a frontcourt status
Team in control is the first to touch the ball after it's achieved a backcourt status.

With that, do you have a violation? Reading up on player position may help with your question.
I say Yes a Violation has occured...While it takes 2 feet and the ball for a dribbler to establish FC..it only takes either the ball or one foot or both feet to be in the BC for a violation after establishing FC status.

Now, Did I get the call right?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2012, 03:41pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
I say Yes a Violation has occured...While it takes 2 feet and the ball for a dribbler to establish FC..it only takes either the ball or one foot or both feet to be in the BC for a violation after establishing FC status.

Now, Did I get the call right?
Correct
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2012, 04:24pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Correct
Thanks much appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 05, 2012, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
I say Yes a Violation has occured...While it takes 2 feet and the ball for a dribbler to establish FC..it only takes either the ball or one foot or both feet to be in the BC for a violation after establishing FC status.

Now, Did I get the call right?
Same sitch, instead of the foot touching the division line, the ball is dribbled on the line?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2012, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 572
same call
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2012, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
Another spin... A1 is now in FC and B1 bats ball into the air toward A's BC. A1 goes back court and catches it prior to the ball touching the court... What now? Do we go with the rule or the Interpretation?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2012, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
Another spin... A1 is now in FC and B1 bats ball into the air toward A's BC. A1 goes back court and catches it prior to the ball touching the court... What now? Do we go with the rule or the Interpretation?
I'm going to, in THIS case, judge that B1 established control during that brief bat.

So there is no conflict.

Even if I didn't do that, I'm going with the rule because, with the conflict, the interpretation doesn't even make common sense....from the point of view of whether it is "right" for that to be a violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
backcourt violation, nfhs

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW NFHS backcourt violation rule Nevadaref Basketball 23 Fri Oct 07, 2011 01:05pm
backcourt? jr Basketball 3 Sat Mar 11, 2006 09:43am
Backcourt or not? assignmentmaker Basketball 38 Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:05pm
Backcourt??? whistleone Basketball 3 Sat Mar 01, 2003 01:11am
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) KWH Football 27 Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1