The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2012, 08:31pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Hey No Cuts, I Was First . . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Isn't 9-5 more germane to the situation?

A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended,
unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
Golly, where did I see 9-5-3 mentioned before?

( Nice use of the word "germane", though. )
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2012, 08:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Golly, where did I see 9-5-3 mentioned before?

( Nice use of the word "germane", though. )
Technically, it doesn't fit. The OP is an interrupted dribble, not a fumble.

I think the intent is clear, however.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2012, 08:44pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,512
I Often Quote Myself. It Adds Spice To My Conversation (George Bernard Shaw) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Golly, where did I see 9-5-3 mentioned before?
Hey, you only cited the rule, I quoted the rule.

And "germane" trumps "relevent" everytime.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 850
Double Dribble violation. Even if the ball was touched by an opponent it is still a violation. 4-15-4d only applies if the opponent causes the dibbler to lose control. The OP states the dribbler causes the loss of control.

4-15-4: The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both
hands.
b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or
both hands.
c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to
lose control.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 03:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Double Dribble violation. Even if the ball was touched by an opponent it is still a violation. 4-15-4d only applies if the opponent causes the dibbler to lose control. The OP states the dribbler causes the loss of control.

4-15-4: The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both
hands.
b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or
both hands.
c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to
lose control.
Try 9-5-3
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 04:41pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,512
It's Déjà Vu All Over Again (Yogi Berra) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Try 9-5-3
A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
9-5-3

9-5-3 does not fit if A1's actions are deemed an interrupted dribble.

This rule allows A1 to dribble a second time, if AFTER ending their initial dribble the ball is fumbled...

In the OP, the ball was touched prior to the dribble ending. 4-15-4

Did A2's touching change the A1's interrupted dribble, into a fumble? As it was not a momentary loss of control (4-15-5)? If it is ruled a fumble, then the dribble has ended and 9-5-3 applies.

Or when A2 touches the ball, can that be considered a pass? Thus 9-5-3 allows a second dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
9-5-3 does not fit if A1's actions are deemed an interrupted dribble.

This rule allows A1 to dribble a second time, if AFTER ending their initial dribble the ball is fumbled...

In the OP, the ball was touched prior to the dribble ending. 4-15-4

Did A2's touching change the A1's interrupted dribble, into a fumble? As it was not a momentary loss of control (4-15-5)? If it is ruled a fumble, then the dribble has ended and 9-5-3 applies.

Or when A2 touches the ball, can that be considered a pass? Thus 9-5-3 allows a second dribble.
Only if it touches another player after the fumble.

The play in the OP is an interrupted dribble. When it touches A2, it becomes a pass. A1 lost control of a ball in the form of a pass that touched another player (9-5-3...the first part rather than the 2nd part that everyone is talking about). A1 is no longer limited and can start a new dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Sep 14, 2012 at 07:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 14, 2012, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Double Dribble violation. Even if the ball was touched by an opponent it is still a violation. 4-15-4d only applies if the opponent causes the dibbler to lose control. The OP states the dribbler causes the loss of control.

4-15-4: The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both
hands.
b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or
both hands.
c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to
lose control.
The dribble also ends in other ways that are not mentioned. This list is how a dribble usually ends and defines that if these happen, the dribble has ended. However, I can think of several situations where a dribble ends without any of the above happening.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Sep 15, 2012 at 05:42pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interrupted Dribble bas2456 Basketball 9 Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:57am
Interrupted Dribble jdmara Basketball 4 Tue Sep 29, 2009 01:44pm
interrupted dribble Dbyb Basketball 3 Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:19am
3 Sec During Interrupted Dribble chayce Basketball 1 Fri Dec 12, 2003 12:17pm
Interrupted dribble force39 Basketball 10 Wed Mar 12, 2003 03:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1