![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
It's Déjà Vu All Over Again (Yogi Berra) ...
A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
9-5-3
9-5-3 does not fit if A1's actions are deemed an interrupted dribble.
This rule allows A1 to dribble a second time, if AFTER ending their initial dribble the ball is fumbled... In the OP, the ball was touched prior to the dribble ending. 4-15-4 Did A2's touching change the A1's interrupted dribble, into a fumble? As it was not a momentary loss of control (4-15-5)? If it is ruled a fumble, then the dribble has ended and 9-5-3 applies. Or when A2 touches the ball, can that be considered a pass? Thus 9-5-3 allows a second dribble. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The play in the OP is an interrupted dribble. When it touches A2, it becomes a pass. A1 lost control of a ball in the form of a pass that touched another player (9-5-3...the first part rather than the 2nd part that everyone is talking about). A1 is no longer limited and can start a new dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Sep 14, 2012 at 07:58pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Interrupted Dribble | bas2456 | Basketball | 9 | Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:57am |
| Interrupted Dribble | jdmara | Basketball | 4 | Tue Sep 29, 2009 01:44pm |
| interrupted dribble | Dbyb | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:19am |
| 3 Sec During Interrupted Dribble | chayce | Basketball | 1 | Fri Dec 12, 2003 12:17pm |
| Interrupted dribble | force39 | Basketball | 10 | Wed Mar 12, 2003 03:20pm |