The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2012, 01:49pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
IMO, once he starts making plays for the ball he no longer hanging on the rim for his safety.
Agreed. In a) do we call the BI and tack on a technical as well, or just one or the other?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2012, 02:40pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I was T, and blew the whistle for a T. We got together and decided to go with BI instead.

In hind sight, 10-3-4 justifies a T. While I don't hate the BI call, I think I would have preferred a T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2012, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I was T, and blew the whistle for a T. We got together and decided to go with BI instead.

In hind sight, 10-3-4 justifies a T. While I don't hate the BI call, I think I would have preferred a T.
This is a HTBT play for me. I'm not of the opinion that just because he began swatting at the ball, he was automatically out of danger in terms of returning to the floor, which is why I would have to see the situation to judge clearly. From your OP, it's no clear when he begins swatting at the ball if he is out of danger below him.

And, by swatting at the ball, do you mean he made contact with the ball?

If he's in danger with regards to players below him, and he never makes contact with the ball while swatting, I have nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2012, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I was T, and blew the whistle for a T. We got together and decided to go with BI instead.

In hind sight, 10-3-4 justifies a T. While I don't hate the BI call, I think I would have preferred a T.
As soon as the ball ceased to be in contact with the player's hands, he must not make contact with it again while the ball is within the cylinder. If he does, that's BI.
If the the ball has left the cylinder, then he can't infringe upon 10-3-4 to make a play on it while holding onto the ring. If he does, then the technical foul occurs prior to his tap or try and the ball becomes dead, so no goal could be scored. While that outcome may essentially be the same as calling BI, it technically is not BI.
BTW I had a similar play in a Regional Semi-Final last season and T'd the 6-10 center for one of the teams. He missed a dunk and while still holding onto the ring tried to knock the ball into the basket. He made contact with the ball and the ball was out of the cylinder when he went after it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
This is a HTBT play for me. I'm not of the opinion that just because he began swatting at the ball, he was automatically out of danger in terms of returning to the floor, which is why I would have to see the situation to judge clearly. From your OP, it's no clear when he begins swatting at the ball if he is out of danger below him.

And, by swatting at the ball, do you mean he made contact with the ball?

If he's in danger with regards to players below him, and he never makes contact with the ball while swatting, I have nothing.
You are using an incorrect standard to judge this situation. You are trying to use whether he is still in danger at the time while you should be using whether the player is gaining or attempting to gain an unfair advantage.

The player is permitted to hang on the ring to protect himself from injury. However, that is all that he is allowed to do. He cannot take part in the game action while there. To do so, would be to gain an advantage from hanging on the ring and that infringes upon 10-3-4. He should be penalized as soon as he makes a play for the ball.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Jul 17, 2012 at 06:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2012, 08:09pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
As soon as the ball ceased to be in contact with the player's hands, he must not make contact with it again while the ball is within the cylinder. If he does, that's BI.
If the the ball has left the cylinder, then he can't infringe upon 10-3-4 to make a play on it while holding onto the ring. If he does, then the technical foul occurs prior to his tap or try and the ball becomes dead, so no goal could be scored. While that outcome may essentially be the same as calling BI, it technically is not BI.
BTW I had a similar play in a Regional Semi-Final last season and T'd the 6-10 center for one of the teams. He missed a dunk and while still holding onto the ring tried to knock the ball into the basket. He made contact with the ball and the ball was out of the cylinder when he went after it.
Thanks for the confirmation, I appreciate it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2012, 08:47pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
What I said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
IMO, once he starts making plays for the ball he is no longer hanging on the rim for his safety.
What I meant as eloquently stated by our resident lawyer:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
...


You are using an incorrect standard to judge this situation. You are trying to use whether he is still in danger at the time while you should be using whether the player is gaining or attempting to gain an unfair advantage.

The player is permitted to hang on the ring to protect himself from injury. However, that is all that he is allowed to do. He cannot take part in the game action while there. To do so, would be to gain an advantage from hanging on the ring and that infringes upon 10-3-4. He should be penalized as soon as he makes a play for the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 17, 2012, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I was T, and blew the whistle for a T. We got together and decided to go with BI instead.

In hind sight, 10-3-4 justifies a T. While I don't hate the BI call, I think I would have preferred a T.
Yep, it's a T in either situation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make the call tomegun Basketball 12 Thu Feb 15, 2007 07:51am
You make the call CLAY Basketball 7 Thu Jan 29, 2004 11:09am
You Make The Call whiskers_ump Softball 21 Sun Jan 05, 2003 07:48pm
Make the call tiger_tee Football 10 Mon Dec 23, 2002 08:12pm
What call would you make? Gre144 Baseball 5 Fri Apr 20, 2001 09:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1