![]() |
|
|||
Make the call
From our JUCO quiz:
A1 ends his dribble and cannot find anyone to whom to pass the ball, so to avert having a five-second closely guarded violation called, A1 intentionally throws the ball against B1. A1 catches the ball and starts another dribble. The official rules this a double dribble. The coach inquires about the call and the official informs the coach that voluntarily throwing the ball against another player is illegal. Is the official correct?
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
I will bite
I say the official made an error in judgement, but that is just my opinion.....please enlighten us
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
Legal. NCAA rule 9-7-1(c)--"A player shall not dribble a second time after the player's first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of a pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player. Note "player"; that's anyone else on the court.
NFHS rule 9-5-3 uses basically the same language. Case book play 9.5.3 is basically the same play as the JUCO question. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Feb 14, 2007 at 10:17am. |
|
|||
the way it's worded, a player could do the same thing off a teammate and still not double dribble. I can't imagine its a good strategy because you could never be sure how the ball might come off another player - especially one that is facing and defending you.
__________________
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I had the same thing (and used the same reference) as Jurassic. BNR, did you send your answers in yet?
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Quote:
Nope, I'll send it in tomorrow. I'm not getting anymore games this season so I'm not too concerned about being a day late. ![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Question about this
If the question was intentionally throwing the ball off of the defensive player and the rule that is quoted says it the player cannot dribble again unless there was a pass or fumble touched by another player, wouldn't that conclude that this is a violation?
__________________
Damain |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The rule is cited above. The rule says that it ISN'T a violation. The NFHS case play cited is the exact same play and that says that it isn't a violation. Could you explain logically your reasons why you think that it is a violation? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
For those that think it is a violation: would you call it a violation if a player threw the ball off a defender to keep from going out of bounds or get out of a trap? How would it be legal to throw the ball off a player to keep from going out of bounds, but illegal to do the same thing and then dribble? What about throwing it off a defender on the throw in and going to get it?
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
You Make the Call | IREFU2 | Basketball | 15 | Fri Dec 09, 2005 02:08pm |
you make the call | Zimbo | Basketball | 15 | Mon Feb 24, 2003 01:49am |
You Make The Call | whiskers_ump | Softball | 21 | Sun Jan 05, 2003 07:48pm |
Make the call | tiger_tee | Football | 10 | Mon Dec 23, 2002 08:12pm |
ASA make the call | oppool | Softball | 3 | Tue Feb 06, 2001 04:35pm |