
Tue Jul 17, 2012, 08:47pm
|
Courageous When Prudent
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
|
|
What I said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
IMO, once he starts making plays for the ball he is no longer hanging on the rim for his safety.
|
What I meant as eloquently stated by our resident lawyer:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
...
You are using an incorrect standard to judge this situation. You are trying to use whether he is still in danger at the time while you should be using whether the player is gaining or attempting to gain an unfair advantage.
The player is permitted to hang on the ring to protect himself from injury. However, that is all that he is allowed to do. He cannot take part in the game action while there. To do so, would be to gain an advantage from hanging on the ring and that infringes upon 10-3-4. He should be penalized as soon as he makes a play for the ball.
|
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
|