![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue May 08, 2012 at 08:47am. |
|
|||
Quote:
That is your opinion, and perhaps accurate. I had his torso still shifting forward at the time of contact. As such, even if his foot was down, it is irrelevant.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
We have to judge who created or caused the contact in some of these plays. In this play, the contact was created by the offensive player jumping into the defender, imo. It really is that simple sometimes - again, imo.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
There are extremes both ways...the "rulebook officials" and the ones who don't bother to get into the books because they "don't need to know that stuff." I think the best officials are the ones who can blend the two...had a former NBA official at a camp tell me "Don't be a rulebook official. They don't last very long. But you better know the rules you are basing your judgement calls on or you won't last long either."
|
|
|||
Quote:
All that has ever meant to me is when guys are so stuck on specific language that they do not understand what the intent of the rule is for or why it was created. Or they forget there are other elements of rules that are stated. And when an official reads a rule and calls the slightest violation of that rule that no one but them sees, that is being a rulebook official to me. Our job should be to call obvious violations and fouls that take place, not just some minor contact and claim a foul was made, but forget that the rules on incidental contact also are listed in that same rulebook. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
You wouldn't be alone. I can't go with a charge, because defender lost any LGP when he was moving in, but I'm not crazy about a block, either, because the shooter caused most of the contact. Still, there was probably enough contact to hinder the shot.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Also, on this play A1 initially moves away from the basket and the defender; B1's movement were consistent in maintaining his LGP based on the direction A1 was going. A1 then changes direction and then puts his shoulder into B1 just after B1 replants his right foot.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue May 08, 2012 at 02:32pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
This play is about LGP and nothing else...did the defender have it or not. We can certainly disagree about whether the defender had it or not but to claim it is about anything else (i.e., who created contact, made space, etc.) is nothing more than a way to try to justify a call when you can't justify it by the rules. This is not a 1 in a million situation. This is a bread and butter call. This is not a "rulebook official" situation. It is about basic definitions. What is LGP. The defender was in the path and had two feet down, there is no question about that....the defender had LGP. The ONLY question is whether he legally moved while maintaining it. Movement is allowed but not if it is toward the opponent at the time of contact. That is pretty basic part of the definition. The player was either moving forward or he wasn't. If so, it is a foul on the defense. There is no other factor to consider. What the offense is doing is irrelevant (unless it is about something other than block/charge). We can certainly disagree about whether he was moving forward or not at the wrong time, but, there are no restrictions on the movement of the player with the ball if the defender is not in LGP. It is the defender's sole responsibility to be in the path legally and to be moving legally if they are moving. That is why we referee the defense. What they do or don't do determines who the foul is on. Disagree about whether the defender is moving forward if you wish, I can accept that. But stick to rules-based reasoning rather than some cliche.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue May 08, 2012 at 07:59pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule says, "A player shall not hold, push, charge, trip or impede the progress of an opponent by extending arm(s), shoulder(s), hip(s) or knee(s) or by bending his or her body into other than a normal position, nor use any rough tactics." Not sure what I said was not supported by rule. I would think "throwing a shoulder" is the exact same thing as extending a shoulder to create space or to go through an opponent. And it does not say that this is special to an player without the ball. I also just used a description, not trying to suggest like someone else that my words were word perfect in the rulebook. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) Last edited by JRutledge; Tue May 08, 2012 at 07:55pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block/Charge: RA Play | APG | Basketball | 21 | Mon May 07, 2012 03:02pm |
Block/Charge? | JohnDorian37 | Basketball | 16 | Sun Jan 16, 2011 01:48pm |
Charge and a block on the same play | Coach Bill | Basketball | 33 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:16pm |
Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
Shot Rebound, Foul Lane Block | bwbuddy | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 05, 2004 10:52am |