View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 06, 2012, 04:23am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
It looks like the defender was legal. Not sure what he did wrong and it would help if the official let everyone what he called. He was way too casual and did not seem to signal anything.

Peace
If you look at the 11 second mark, you can see, what looks like, the lead pointing at the RA and indicating, a blocking foul (in his mind) due to the RA.

NCAA Case Book (2011-2013)

A.R. 125. Player A1 attempts a shot, which bounces off the rim and is rebounded by A2. (1) Player A2 who is in the lane area immediately attempts a put back and crashes into the torso of B2, who is positioned within the restricted area; or (2) Player A2, who is located on the wing just inside the three point line, gains possession of a long rebound and immediately drives to the basket with no defender. Player A2 crashes into the torso of B2 who is located within the restricted area.

RULING: When A2 rebounds the ball and immediately makes a move to the basket, there is no secondary defender and the restricted area rule is not in effect. When illegal contact occurs it is player control/charging foul on A2. (Rule 4-61.3, 4-56, and 10-1.12)

Playing devil's advocate, perhaps the lead didn't think the move by A1 was immediate?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote