The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block/Charge RA Play: Off Rebound (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91023-block-charge-ra-play-off-rebound.html)

APG Sat May 05, 2012 07:21pm

Block/Charge RA Play: Off Rebound
 
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/M2FCb1pcqsU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

johnny d Sat May 05, 2012 10:53pm

there is no restricted area on plays where person who gets offensive goes right to the basket because none of the defenders are considered secondary defenders.

JRutledge Sat May 05, 2012 11:05pm

It looks like the defender was legal. Not sure what he did wrong and it would help if the official let everyone what he called. He was way too casual and did not seem to signal anything.

Peace

Adam Sat May 05, 2012 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 840418)
It looks like the defender was legal. Not sure what he did wrong and it would help if the official let everyone what he called. He was way too casual and did not seem to signal anything.

Peace

Agreed. I've got a charge on this, and how is the defender not a primary defender? He's the first guy on the shooter after the rebound is gathered.

APG Sun May 06, 2012 04:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 840418)
It looks like the defender was legal. Not sure what he did wrong and it would help if the official let everyone what he called. He was way too casual and did not seem to signal anything.

Peace

If you look at the 11 second mark, you can see, what looks like, the lead pointing at the RA and indicating, a blocking foul (in his mind) due to the RA.

NCAA Case Book (2011-2013)

A.R. 125. Player A1 attempts a shot, which bounces off the rim and is rebounded by A2. (1) Player A2 who is in the lane area immediately attempts a put back and crashes into the torso of B2, who is positioned within the restricted area; or (2) Player A2, who is located on the wing just inside the three point line, gains possession of a long rebound and immediately drives to the basket with no defender. Player A2 crashes into the torso of B2 who is located within the restricted area.

RULING: When A2 rebounds the ball and immediately makes a move to the basket, there is no secondary defender and the restricted area rule is not in effect. When illegal contact occurs it is player control/charging foul on A2. (Rule 4-61.3, 4-56, and 10-1.12)

Playing devil's advocate, perhaps the lead didn't think the move by A1 was immediate? :D

Toren Sun May 06, 2012 10:56am

My 2 cents
 
Looks to me like the L didn't know what he had, so he blew his whistle, probably replayed it. Then quickly thought, oh he's in the RA, so I can get out of this, then points down.

Clearly he didn't know that rule and neither did I, so learned something.

Thanks for posting.

Camron Rust Sun May 06, 2012 10:58am

Although it appears he called it as an RA call, the defender was moving forward (bellying up)...which made it a good block call for the wrong reason.

johnny d Sun May 06, 2012 11:39am

APG thanks for posting the rule, apparently my Sheldonesque knowledge of the rules is underestimated because I think I said the exact same thing in the first reply to this post. now if you want to debate the other merits to determine offensive/defensive foul, please continue.

Camron Rust Sun May 06, 2012 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 840454)
APG thanks for posting the rule, apparently my Sheldonesque knowledge of the rules is underestimated because I think I said the exact same thing in the first reply to this post. now if you want to debate the other merits to determine offensive/defensive foul, please continue.

Unfortunately, your first post seems to be missing a few words and isn't exactly clear.

Adam Sun May 06, 2012 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 840454)
APG thanks for posting the rule, apparently my Sheldonesque knowledge of the rules is underestimated because I think I said the exact same thing in the first reply to this post. now if you want to debate the other merits to determine offensive/defensive foul, please continue.

Forgive APG for not relying on your post and instead posting an actual rule. I hope your feelings weren't hurt too badly, and I hope you don't feel too disrespected to continue regaling us with your Sheldonesque rules knowledge.

Now, you're in my spot.

Raymond Sun May 06, 2012 01:18pm

Yeah, the Lead definitely points to the RA. That conference almost always has an observer at its games so I'm sure this play was discussed afterwards.

APG Sun May 06, 2012 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 840454)
APG thanks for posting the rule, apparently my Sheldonesque knowledge of the rules is underestimated because I think I said the exact same thing in the first reply to this post. now if you want to debate the other merits to determine offensive/defensive foul, please continue.

I did not post the case book play because I underestimated your Sheldonesque (thumbs up for TBBT reference) knowledge of the rules. I meant no ill will posting the play...rather I posted it more to supplement and make clearer your point.

JRutledge Sun May 06, 2012 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 840454)
APG thanks for posting the rule, apparently my Sheldonesque knowledge of the rules is underestimated because I think I said the exact same thing in the first reply to this post. now if you want to debate the other merits to determine offensive/defensive foul, please continue.

Sorry my man, I actually appreciated APG's reference. That is what we do here often. I think you need to lighten up a little bit and relax. No harm was meant to what you stated. The rule helps us get away from just our opinion of what we think the rule says.

Peace

Welpe Mon May 07, 2012 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 840454)
APG thanks for posting the rule, apparently my Sheldonesque knowledge of the rules is underestimated because I think I said the exact same thing in the first reply to this post. now if you want to debate the other merits to determine offensive/defensive foul, please continue.

Shall we just close the thread after you reply from now on?

Am I crazy here for thinking maybe no whistle at all is OK? Defender seems to be moving forward some and perhaps embellishes the contact a little (oh no not that again).

Da Official Mon May 07, 2012 10:52am

I agree with Cameron and Welpe. Defender moves forward just as offensive player jumps toward the basketball. Either way the play deserved a whistle and in my opinion the defensive block was the correct call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1