The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Alternating Possession Debate

Had a situation Tuesday - inbounds play - ball was kicked by defender before the ball legally touched player or court inbounds - therefore - throw end had not ended. My take is that by rule 4-42-5 the throw in team keeps the ball and the arrow - partner disagrees - what say you?
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
Had a situation Tuesday - inbounds play - ball was kicked by defender before the ball legally touched player or court inbounds - therefore - throw end had not ended. My take is that by rule 4-42-5 the throw in team keeps the ball and the arrow - partner disagrees - what say you?
What was his reasoning? What did he say when you said the throw-in had not ended?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Reasoning

He thought the throw in ended when touched by the defender - even if touched illegally.
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:12pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Smitty, I know you've been around here long enough to KNOW the answer to this one.

And it's not "what say you", it's "what does the rule book say".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Thanks for the verification all

You are correct BNR - but when a vet argues with you it sometimes creates some self doubt.
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:43pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
You are correct BNR - but when a vet argues with you it sometimes creates some self doubt.
When a vet argues with me it usually reassures me that I'm right.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 05:37pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
You are correct BNR - but when a vet argues with you it sometimes creates some self doubt.
As I posted earlier today. Veteran official != official that knows the rules.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:14pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
He thought the throw in ended when touched by the defender - even if touched illegally.
Sounds like he's answered his own question. The throw in ends when the ball is LEGALLY touched inbounds. The ball was not legally touched inbounds. Team B violated by kicking it. A gets a new throw in and keeps the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Isn't there a case play on this?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Isn't there a case play on this?
Yes. I don't have my books with me, but I have seen it before.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
He thought the throw in ended when touched by the defender - even if touched illegally.
I'm not sure what to tell him then if he doesn't know when a throw-in ends.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I'm not sure what to tell him then if he doesn't know when a throw-in ends.
Pull out the rule book and show it to him.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 03:33pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
Had a situation Tuesday - inbounds play - ball was kicked by defender before the ball legally touched player or court inbounds - therefore - throw end had not ended. My take is that by rule 4-42-5 the throw in team keeps the ball and the arrow - partner disagrees - what say you?
Case book play 4.42.5 is this exact play.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 06:45pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Kickball ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Case book play 4.42.5 is this exact play.
4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in.
A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking
violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to
where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession
throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and
therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession
throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession
throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered.
When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking
violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternating Possession youngref33 Basketball 4 Tue Jan 24, 2012 03:34pm
Alternating Possession nukewhistle Basketball 15 Mon Dec 27, 2004 08:05pm
Alternating Possession? johnnyrao Basketball 1 Mon Dec 13, 2004 11:19pm
Alternating Possession Rick Durkee Basketball 11 Fri Nov 12, 2004 10:39pm
Alternating Possession mbloise Basketball 5 Sun Oct 31, 2004 10:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1