The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Question

Rule 6-4-3-e. States that an alternating possession throw-in shall result when "the ball becomes dead when neither team is in control and no goal or infraction or end of a quarter or extra period is involved." My imagination may be on break today, but what situation is this meant to cover?

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
Rule 6-4-3-e. States that an alternating possession throw-in shall result when "the ball becomes dead when neither team is in control and no goal or infraction or end of a quarter or extra period is involved." My imagination may be on break today, but what situation is this meant to cover?

Rick
Tweet! Oops inadvertent whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
held ball, ball lodged on the backboard, comes to rest on the flange, out of bounds and uncertain who touched it last...............
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Perhaps I didn't include enough of the rule, but held ball and ball coming to rest on the flange are covered in other parts of rule 6-4-3. Would you consider the ball "out of bounds and uncertain who touched it last" an infraction? I do understand the inadvertent whistle. I am not currently near my rulebook, so I am wondering how the book covers inadvertent whistle. I will look into it later.

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
aren't inadvertant whistles given to the team last in control, except in a situation where there is no team control established??? I also don't have my books handy..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
aren't inadvertant whistles given to the team last in control, except in a situation where there is no team control established??? I also don't have my books handy..
I've never had a case where there was an inadvertent whistle where the ball wasn't given to the team last in control. I can't think of a situation where this wouldn't be the case. Are there situationw here this can occur?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
aren't inadvertant whistles given to the team last in control, except in a situation where there is no team control established??? I also don't have my books handy..
I've never had a case where there was an inadvertent whistle where the ball wasn't given to the team last in control. I can't think of a situation where this wouldn't be the case. Are there situationw here this can occur?
well there would be no team control during a try, or during a throw in...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
what situation is this meant to cover?
Double personal fouls during an unsuccessful try.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winchester, NH
Posts: 184
Wouldn't a double foul be an infraction?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,093
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
Wouldn't a double foul be an infraction?
Yes. Ignore Chuck (this time). Double fouls in FED always use the AP; they're covered under 6-4-3f.

The rule is to cover an accidental whistle during a time when there is no team control. See 7.5.4, especially (c)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 08:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
Wouldn't a double foul be an infraction?
No, it's two infractions.

(And one brain-dead moment for me. )
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2004, 10:39pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
Wouldn't a double foul be an infraction?
No, it's two infractions.

(And one brain-dead moment for me. )
Is that similar to a "brain infarction"?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1