The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 12, 2012, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by tophat67 View Post
Teams line up for free throws as a result of a shooting foul. Two subs are ready to come in at the table before the first free thrown. Before the first free throw attempt, coach calls time out. After the time out, coach asks if both both subs able to come into the game or do they have to wait until the first free throw has been attempted. He says that an official told him at their last game that the subs had to wait until the first free throw attempt.
Yes. All subs can come in after a timeout as long as they are checked in before the first horn. I would have considered them checked in if they were at the table before the first free throw. I'm trying to think of how big a deal this is anyway?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 12, 2012, 01:33pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
Yes. All subs can come in after a timeout as long as they are checked in before the first horn. I would have considered them checked in if they were at the table before the first free throw. I'm trying to think of how big a deal this is anyway?
Coach might have a knucklehead who he doesn't want doing something stupid during the first free throw.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 12, 2012, 03:10pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
To the table, signalling accordingly: "We have a 30/60-second time out. White coach requested it. Start the clock, please. Subs, you're in."
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 12, 2012, 04:36pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
To the table, signalling accordingly: "We have a 30/60-second time out. White coach requested it. Start the clock, please. Subs, you're in."
Is this really correct procedure? What if the coach decides to pull the sub during the timeout? Who would you decide had to sit a tic?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 12, 2012, 07:37pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
What if the coach decides to pull the sub during the timeout?
If that sub is still at the table, after I've confirmed with my partner whose ball and where after the TO, and I've announced the TO to the table, then he hasn't been pulled.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1