The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 06:58am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Ignorance Is Not Bliss ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Basically all you need to know is that we handle plays, as it relates to backcourt violations, three second count and 10 second count the exact same way as before.
I pity the 2011-12 rookie official.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 09:49am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
I believe the TC that I mentioned only applies to the throw-in in case there is a foul?

BktBallRef: 9-9-1 2011-2012 says Team control and Player Control.
2010-2011 only says Team Control. I believe we discussed in an earlier thread where the wording was inadvertantly changed in the rule book and the 2011-2012 is an error.
The OP is no BC due to neither Player nor Team control exists.
TC does exist. TC does not end when the throw-in is released. It is not a BC violation because player control had not yet been established.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 09:53am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
TC does exist. TC does not end when the throw-in is released. It is not a BC violation because player control had not yet been established.
Partner yesterday said he was corrected by varsity officials after letting a play go. A2 tips the throw in into the bc where A3 retrieves it.

Some people are only reading the highlights of the rule changes.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Sorry to bring this back

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Partner yesterday said he was corrected by varsity officials after letting a play go. A2 tips the throw in into the bc where A3 retrieves it.

Some people are only reading the highlights of the rule changes.
but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 12:16pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?
You're right in that the throw-in exception does not apply, but it is not a violation as no player control had been established first. Just judge these throw-in plays like you would have last year.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 12:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?
No, it's not.

Before this season, there was no team control established (in this play) until A3 controls the ball in the BC. When they added TC to the throw in, they (the rules committee) made it clear the BC rule was not supposed to change in application. To do this, they added the requirement for PC to be established in the FC (this changes a few other plays by literal reading, but that's another issue), so the play in question is still not a violation. The exception was never relevant to this play.

The end of the exception only applies to an airborne player jumping from the FC, catching the ball (establishing FC status and TC at the same time), and landing in the BC. This would always have been a violation without the exception.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Got it now, I think. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt? stiffler3492 Basketball 26 Sun Oct 09, 2011 10:14pm
Backcourt or not? moref Basketball 15 Wed Jan 05, 2005 04:12pm
Backcourt or no? jcurtin Basketball 9 Fri Dec 31, 2004 07:32pm
Backcourt runupdown Basketball 19 Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:17pm
Help on backcourt Back In The Saddle Basketball 10 Wed Dec 15, 2004 04:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1