![]() |
|
|||
Backcourt?
Team A has the ball in the frontcourt for a throw in. A1 throws it to A2, but A2 can't handle the pass, and the ball goes into the backcourt. A2 is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt.
Keeping the rule change in mind, what do ya got? |
|
|||
Team Control ???
Nothing. Supposedly, the new rule change won't effect plays like this, but I understand that the wording in the rules doesn't support this "Supposedly".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
No violation
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
This is one of these cases where the "Intent and Purpose" of the rule applies. The wording does not appear to be very clear, but it is clear that the rule was changed to not shoot FTs on fouls when the ball is being thrown in. As Billy said I do not think this changed, but it is hard to tell sometimes with some of the wording.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
NCAA already had the TC throw-in rule in place and it was not a violation due to throw-in exceptions.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
I know the OP is not a BC violaton but I'm wondering as to what new rule you are referring.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
The new "TC on a throw-in" rule -- it's led to some changes in wording in other areas (including cases)
|
|
|||
That's what I searching for, where does it say that there has to be "both team AND PLAYER control in the frontcourt" in order for a backcourt violation to occur?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
|||
Nevada's post is misleading as the new TC rule and its associated case plays make no reference to " both team AND PLAYER control in the frontcourt". The newly worded rule he is referencing is 9-9-1.
I'm quite sure the "rule change" the OP wanted us to "keep in mind" was 4-12-2d.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Well, what I was going for was how the new team control on throw in rule affected backcourt violations.
The general consensus seems to be that what I had was no violation, because there was never player control in the frontcourt. |
|
|||
No doubt about that. Just that Nevada is a lawyer and likes to play word games.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt or not to backcourt and POI | reffish | Basketball | 7 | Thu Oct 13, 2005 03:03pm |
backcourt ? | sc/nc ref | Basketball | 3 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:47pm |
backcourt or no backcourt | cmathews | Basketball | 6 | Fri Feb 18, 2005 05:06pm |
Backcourt or not? | johnyd | Basketball | 5 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:03pm |
Backcourt??? | whistleone | Basketball | 3 | Sat Mar 01, 2003 01:11am |