View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 12:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
but just to be clear, the above play where A2 tips throwin into b/c and A3 touches IS a violation??.. since throw in exception (9.9.1. E) does NOT apply?
No, it's not.

Before this season, there was no team control established (in this play) until A3 controls the ball in the BC. When they added TC to the throw in, they (the rules committee) made it clear the BC rule was not supposed to change in application. To do this, they added the requirement for PC to be established in the FC (this changes a few other plays by literal reading, but that's another issue), so the play in question is still not a violation. The exception was never relevant to this play.

The end of the exception only applies to an airborne player jumping from the FC, catching the ball (establishing FC status and TC at the same time), and landing in the BC. This would always have been a violation without the exception.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote