The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt...Again (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87801-backcourt-again.html)

Triad zebra Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:11pm

Backcourt...Again
 
A1 throw in to A2 in frontcourt near division line. A2 never has control and fumbles the pass into the backcourt and retrieves it. No violation.. correct? Even though the new rule says there is team control on throw in.

Raymond Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:13pm

Based on all the discussions we've had on this subject what element do you think is missing that prevents this from being a backcourt violation?

I know you were involved in one of the discussions.

Triad zebra Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 821308)
Based on all the discussions we've had on this subject what element do you think is missing that prevents this from being a backcourt violation?

No team control?

McMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:29pm

Wasn't there a couple plays in NCAA in Nov/Dec where this exact scenario happened. They said that because there was no PC inbounds, FC status for the ball has not been established, therefore no BC violation. And by the Transitive Property (math teacher) the NCAA and NFHS rules are similar on throw-in provisions in this case, I say no violation.

Raymond Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 821310)
No team control?

There is TC from the beginning of the throw-in. You even stated so above.

BktBallRef Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 821307)
A1 throw in to A2 in frontcourt near division line. A2 never has control and fumbles the pass into the backcourt and retrieves it. No violation.. correct? Even though the new rule says there is team control on throw in.

Read 9-9-1 and then tell us what you think.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 08, 2012 03:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 821329)
There is TC from the beginning of the throw-in. You even stated so above.

There may be tc, but not TC. :)

Adam Wed Feb 08, 2012 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 821402)
There may be tc, but not TC. :)

"I like her, but I don't LIKE LIKE her."

letemplay Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:04pm

Correction?
 
Suppose in the OP the covering official mistakenly calls a bc violation. Can another/both come to discuss and change? If so, is ball given back to A at spot closest to the backcourt recovery? Suppose whistle comes on A2's first touch in backcourt, but almost immediately after, B1 slaps ball away and is heading for his goal?

Duffman Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 821581)
Suppose in the OP the covering official mistakenly calls a bc violation. Can another/both come to discuss and change? If so, is ball given back to A at spot closest to the backcourt recovery? Suppose whistle comes on A2's first touch in backcourt, but almost immediately after, B1 slaps ball away and is heading for his goal?

I don't see why this couldn't be "overturned" by another official. Depending on when the whislte occured you could find your self with an AP throw in which would be fun to explain. The likelyhood of that happening would probably be impacted by where on the court the initial contact occured.

I can't imagine too many situations in which I'd even have anything helpful for the T official, especially if I was L.

Adam Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Duffman (Post 821585)
I don't see why this couldn't be "overturned" by another official. Depending on when the whislte occured you could find your self with an AP throw in which would be fun to explain. The likelyhood of that happening would probably be impacted by where on the court the initial contact occured.

I can't imagine too many situations in which I'd even have anything helpful for the T official, especially if I was L.

I know you put it in quotes, but please don't use this term. All you can really do, by rule, is give him information you have and give him the choice to make the change or not.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 821581)
Suppose in the OP the covering official mistakenly calls a bc violation. Can another/both come to discuss and change? If so, is ball given back to A at spot closest to the backcourt recovery? Suppose whistle comes on A2's first touch in backcourt, but almost immediately after, B1 slaps ball away and is heading for his goal?

Yes, it can be changed. It's then an IW. Give the ball back to A.

mbyron Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821594)
I know you put it in quotes, but please don't use this term. All you can really do, by rule, is give him information you have and give him the choice to make the change or not.

Exactly. "Hey Bill, I had B5 last touching the ball before it went into the backcourt." The next move is Bill's.

Triad zebra Wed Feb 08, 2012 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 821329)
There is TC from the beginning of the throw-in. You even stated so above.

I believe the TC that I mentioned only applies to the throw-in in case there is a foul?

BktBallRef: 9-9-1 2011-2012 says Team control and Player Control.
2010-2011 only says Team Control. I believe we discussed in an earlier thread where the wording was inadvertantly changed in the rule book and the 2011-2012 is an error.
The OP is no BC due to neither Player nor Team control exists.

APG Wed Feb 08, 2012 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 821788)
I believe the TC that I mentioned only applies to the throw-in in case there is a foul?

BktBallRef: 9-9-1 2011-2012 says Team control and Player Control.
2010-2011 only says Team Control. I believe we discussed in an earlier thread where the wording was inadvertantly changed in the rule book and the 2011-2012 is an error.
The OP is no BC due to neither Player nor Team control exists.

Basically all you need to know is that we handle plays, as it relates to backcourt violations, three second count and 10 second count the exact same way as before. The purpose of adding team control to include throw-ins was to not award bonus free throws if the throw-in team commits a foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1