The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 12:16pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Not facing the opponent

A-1 goes airborne. Defender B-2 has his spot in the lane, but facing in another direction (turned about a 90 degrees from the path of the shooter). Instinctively, the defender jumps, and has clear verticality, but is not facing the shooter when contact is made (shooter's torso into defender's side). This was an easy blocking foul, as the defender wasn't facing the shooter at all.

Generally speaking, and outside of an outstretched limb from the shooter, when would you have a charge -- or nothing -- when contact occurs, and the defender isn't facing the dribbler/shooter?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Generally speaking, and outside of an outstretched limb from the shooter, when would you have a charge -- or nothing -- when contact occurs, and the defender isn't facing the dribbler/shooter?
Whenever the defender is entitled to his spot -- as in your play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 12:35pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Whenever the defender is entitled to his spot -- as in your play.
Isn't getting to the spot first only half the battle, though? What if you're not facing your opponent (4-23-2b)?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 12:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Isn't getting to the spot first only half the battle, though? What if you're not facing your opponent (4-23-2b)?
If the player hadn't jumped, what would you have called?

By the way, it seems to me that LGP is required for airborne verticality to apply. But the alternate question is whether the spot to which a player is entitled includes the air above the floor. I'm not sure it does, as 4-23-1 says the player is entiteld to his spot "on the playing floor."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Fri Jan 27, 2012 at 12:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Isn't getting to the spot first only half the battle, though? What if you're not facing your opponent (4-23-2b)?
People insist on applying the guarding rule as the only way for a defender to "take a charge." If B1 has his back to A1 and A1 pushes him to the floor, you're calling a block on B1 because he didn't have LGP?

LGP offers protection to moving defenders. A stationary defender is entitled to his spot on the floor (and the vertical space above it) regardless of whether he has LGP.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,015
Facing the opponent would only effect this play if the defender moved away from the spot.

10-6-7
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 12:49pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
People insist on applying the guarding rule as the only way for a defender to "take a charge." If B1 has his back to A1 and A1 pushes him to the floor, you're calling a block on B1 because he didn't have LGP?

LGP offers protection to moving defenders. A stationary defender is entitled to his spot on the floor (and the vertical space above it) regardless of whether he has LGP.
This is spot on with my thinking of the rule.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
People insist on applying the guarding rule as the only way for a defender to "take a charge." If B1 has his back to A1 and A1 pushes him to the floor, you're calling a block on B1 because he didn't have LGP?

LGP offers protection to moving defenders. A stationary defender is entitled to his spot on the floor (and the vertical space above it) regardless of whether he has LGP.
Great explanation +1
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 01:01pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
10-6-7
There it is. That rule says nothing about charging into an opponent with LGP. I'd say 10-6-11 applies here, too.

Thanks for that, and the other feedback. I will now serve a self-imposed one-week suspension for my error.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I will now serve a self-imposed one-week suspension for my error.
Oh please. If I had to take a week off for every error, I'd never be able to post. We're all here to learn and improve, and doing so incurs no penalty.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 01:07pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
People insist on applying the guarding rule as the only way for a defender to "take a charge." If B1 has his back to A1 and A1 pushes him to the floor, you're calling a block on B1 because he didn't have LGP?

LGP offers protection to moving defenders. A stationary defender is entitled to his spot on the floor (and the vertical space above it) regardless of whether he has LGP.
Very well said.

And bainsey, doesn't rule 11-2-4 say that you can't combine self-imposed suspensions with injury recovery time? I think it's clear that they can't be served concurrently. (But I do hope your achilles heals quickly)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 01:10pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
And bainsey, doesn't rule 11-2-4 say that you can't combine self-imposed suspensions with injury recovery time?
Not by my interpretation.

Then again, considering my OP, take strong consideration of what that's worth.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 02:43pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Not by my interpretation.

Then again, considering my OP, take strong consideration of what that's worth.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 02:47pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
From the 07-08 NFHS Simp. & Ill. book

-talking about how the defensive player is entitled to their legal spot on the court, resulting in ruling this type of play a PC foul.Photobucket
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Isn't getting to the spot first only half the battle, though? What if you're not facing your opponent (4-23-2b)?
Then you need to give the moving player time to stop / change direction (not more than two steps).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Three for the opponent? bainsey Basketball 12 Wed Jan 25, 2012 01:08am
Batting the puck into the net off an opponent John Robertson Hockey 3 Sat Nov 04, 2006 03:08pm
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) tem_blue Baseball 6 Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm
Ejected Coach...first time facing since ejection Raymond Basketball 9 Wed Feb 08, 2006 01:34pm
Lining: "Facing the play" sir_eldren Hockey 3 Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1