![]() |
|
|||
Here are some relevant casebook plays:
5.2.1E During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing that he/she had warmed up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested basket. RULING: Score the basket for Team A. The officials should stop the game and emphasize to both teams the proper direction. The mistake is an official's error by allowing A1 and B1 to face the wrong direction; not a correctable error. 5.2.1F During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. Several baskets are scored before it is recognized that both teams are throwing the ball into the opponent's basket. RULING: All points scored count as if the teams had gone the right direction and scored in their own basket. Once the mistake is recognized, play shall continue with each team attempting to score in its own basket. (4-5-4) Since this was the first basket of the game, I'd say the officials treated the situation properly by awarding the points to A (home team).
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Wrong Lineup sheet used | SCalScoreKeeper | Volleyball | 3 | Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:28am |
Not on lineup card !!!! | THREE | Softball | 16 | Wed Sep 02, 2009 03:50pm |
Illegal Lineup? | gymwhite | Volleyball | 11 | Tue Oct 16, 2007 04:41pm |
Wrong Jersey Number on Lineup Card | Spence | Softball | 12 | Mon Apr 18, 2005 02:18pm |
Lineup with a DH | tarheelcoach | Baseball | 17 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:45am |