The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:16am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Is NCAA rule the same as NFHS?

Did he have control inbounds?
Yes, both rule sets are the same in regards to backcourt violations.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:40am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Good Call.

Once he pushed the ball to the floor I have player control.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:49am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
What if a teammate had made the recovery in the backcourt?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:53am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
What if a teammate had made the recovery in the backcourt?
Why would that matter?

Same as if he caught it, ever so briefly, and fumbled into the BC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:56am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Why would that matter?

Same as if he caught it, ever so briefly, and fumbled into the BC.
What did he do which defined control in frontcourt?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:58am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
What did he do which defined control in frontcourt?
Dribbled. In the brief moment before it hit his foot, he had player control by rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 02:04am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Dribbled. In the brief moment before it hit his foot, he had player control by rule.
I agree. But the rest of the world did not in another thread a while back.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:11pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Yes, both rule sets are the same in regards to backcourt violations.
Technically not true anymore. NFHS rule now requires player control in front court for plays where ball touches a player in front court and returns too backcourt. NCAA doesn't. (I tripped on that earlier this season.)
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Thu Jan 19, 2012 at 01:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:14pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
Technically not true anymore. NFHS rule now requires player control in front court. NCAA doesn't. (I tripped on that earlier this season.)
Wording my be different but in application, the rules are the exact same.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:17pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Wording my be different but in application, the rules are the exact same.
I don't think so. A1 in backcourt pass into front court that is deflected off or by an A front court player back into back court and first touched there by A is not a BC violation in NFHS because of this editorial change. (Think A player that doesn't catch the pass or isn't expecting it near the division line.)
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:20pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
I don't think so. A1 in backcourt pass into front court that is deflected off or by an A front court player back into back court and first touched there by A is not a BC violation in NFHS because of this editorial change. (Think A player that doesn't catch the pass or isn't expecting it near the division line.)
That's still a backcourt violation under NFHS rules. The player control portion that was added to the rule applies to when coming out of a throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:22pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
*9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A’s frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A’s backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt.

RULING: In (a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second count.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:26pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
*9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A’s frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A’s backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt.

RULING: In (a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second count.
Weird. In my mind, this conflicts with the addition of "player" into 9-9-1.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 01:23pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
That's still a backcourt violation under NFHS rules. The player control portion that was added to the rule applies to when coming out of a throw-in.
?
9-9-1 doesn't mention throw-ins.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHS
9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball int he frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2012, 02:56pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
?
9-9-1 doesn't mention throw-ins.
Easy fix to the poor wording:

9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control in the frontcourt if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jan 20, 2012 at 09:03am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt Violation newish ref Basketball 35 Thu Dec 08, 2011 08:04am
Backcourt Violation? Dave9819 Basketball 10 Tue Dec 06, 2011 09:38am
Backcourt violation? canuckrefguy Basketball 5 Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:09pm
Backcourt Violation? Cornellref Basketball 4 Wed Dec 03, 2003 08:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1