The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Same ruling in NCAA (but the reference will be slightly different).

Who (what level) were these "fellow officials" who gave "different answers?" Anyone working even freshman HS ball should know the answer, and while I can see one official in a group perhaps not knowing, there should be enough of a consensus to make the correct call obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Same ruling in NCAA (but the reference will be slightly different).

Who (what level) were these "fellow officials" who gave "different answers?" Anyone working even freshman HS ball should know the answer, and while I can see one official in a group perhaps not knowing, there should be enough of a consensus to make the correct call obvious.
Bob, I thought this play was different for NCAA. Was it changed recently ( as in last couple years)?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 10:59am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Bob, I thought this play was different for NCAA. Was it changed recently ( as in last couple years)?
No difference as long as I can remember. Bob may have a different answer.

My guess is some of the officials asked by the OP were confused by the new team control rule and simply over thought the rule.

People seem to think the new rule means there's now a violation on this, but there was always team control and FC status when the player caught the ball in the air, but the exception has always been in place.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No difference as long as I can remember. Bob may have a different answer.
Not this time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 11:21am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not this time.
ouch
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
NCAA Rule 4-3-8
After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his/her front court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the back court. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the front court or back court.

A.R. 232.
The ball is at A1's disposal for a throw-in. A1 passes the ball to A2, who catches the ball while airborne in his or her front court. A2 lands with one foot in his or her front court followed with the other foot landing in his or her back court.
RULING: Legal play. A player shall be permitted to first secure control of the ball after a throw-in, while both feet are off the playing court in his or her front court, and land with one foot or both feet in the back court.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 149
Exclamation


A twist on the OP....IF B1 touches the ball on the throw in by A, the throw in ends thus ending the exception mentioned and now you would have a BC violation. I believe this one was on the refresher test this year.

I have yet to figure out the "logic" in that. It just doesn't seem the touching by B should remove the exception.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 01:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art N View Post

A twist on the OP....IF B1 touches the ball on the throw in by A, the throw in ends thus ending the exception mentioned and now you would have a BC violation. I believe this one was on the refresher test this year.

I have yet to figure out the "logic" in that. It just doesn't seem the touching by B should remove the exception.
I agree, and there was a long debate here a few years ago before they clarified this aspect. Some of us thought the exception should apply to any player whose team was not in control. Others did not. The Others were right, in the end.

That's why I'm not willing to apply case plays to situations that have a fundamental difference, no matter how similar they may seem.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I agree, and there was a long debate here a few years ago before they clarified this aspect. Some of us thought the exception should apply to any player whose team was not in control. Others did not. The Others were right, in the end.

That's why I'm not willing to apply case plays to situations that have a fundamental difference, no matter how similar they may seem.
Well, they may now have an interpretation that supports their point-of-view, but that doesn't make them right!
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I agree, and there was a long debate here a few years ago before they clarified this aspect. Some of us thought the exception should apply to any player whose team was not in control. Others did not. The Others were right, in the end.

That's why I'm not willing to apply case plays to situations that have a fundamental difference, no matter how similar they may seem.
That was my post
Throw-in/Backcourt violation?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
?? back court violation bbcowboy Basketball 15 Tue Dec 14, 2010 03:54pm
Back Court Violation ? trsandy Basketball 23 Wed Feb 10, 2010 01:34pm
Back Court Violation Ricejock Basketball 16 Sun Jan 30, 2005 06:12am
Back court violation?? mwalker13004 Basketball 11 Tue Jan 06, 2004 03:22pm
back court violation? smoref Basketball 32 Fri Nov 21, 2003 09:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1