The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
Back Court Violation ?

Player A1 is bringing the ball up the floor in A1's backcourt, trailed by A2. As A1 crosses the midcourt line he is pressured by B1 and passes the ball to A2 who is airborne over the halfcourt line. A2 lands in the front-court with one foot down prior to catching the ball. is this a backcourt violation ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by trsandy View Post
Player A1 is bringing the ball up the floor in A1's backcourt, trailed by A2. As A1 crosses the midcourt line he is pressured by B1 and passes the ball to A2 who is airborne over the halfcourt line. A2 lands in the front-court with one foot down prior to catching the ball. is this a backcourt violation ?
This is the important part of your scenario. Where is A2 when he has one foot in the frontcourt and nothing touching backcourt?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
A2 is entirely in the Front Court when he catches the ball. The visualization of this would be a running motion across half-court, but going airborne across the midcourt line.

Last edited by trsandy; Wed Feb 10, 2010 at 09:39am. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by trsandy View Post
A2 is entirely in the Front Court when he catches the ball.
That answers your question.

The key here - as in most of the rules - is to not overly-complicate the situations. The pass was from a frontcourt (or backcourt - it's not entirely clear from your description if A1 had entirely entered the frontcourt before passing) player to another player in the frontcourt. As long as the ball didn't gain backcourt status at some point after gaining frontcourt status, no violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
Our team was called for a back-court violation. The Referee who made the call told me that A2 had to have both feet down prior to catching the ball. I am still puzzled by this call, because, like you said, the player never established possession of the ball in backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:04am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'm not sure if I'm reading this correctly.

1. I can't tell where A1 was when he passed the ball. Was he in the FC or the BC? Since you said "as A1 crosses...." I'm having a hard time making that decision.

2. From your description of A2 being airborne over the division line, I have to assume he had jumped from the BC.

Here's how I'm reading this play:
A1 crosses the line, gains FC status, then passes the ball to A2, who is airborne after having jumped from the BC. Where he lands is irrelevant if he catches the ball in the air. This is a violation as soon as A2 touches the ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:04am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by trsandy View Post
Our team was called for a back-court violation. The Referee who made the call told me that A2 had to have both feet down prior to catching the ball. I am still puzzled by this call, because, like you said, the player never established possession of the ball in backcourt.
It seems like he made the right call. Had A2 jumped from the backcourt? Had he landed prior to touching the ball?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm not sure if I'm reading this correctly.

1. I can't tell where A1 was when he passed the ball. Was he in the FC or the BC? Since you said "as A1 crosses...." I'm having a hard time making that decision.

2. From your description of A2 being airborne over the division line, I have to assume he had jumped from the BC.

Here's how I'm reading this play:
A1 crosses the line, gains FC status, then passes the ball to A2, who is airborne after having jumped from the BC. Where he lands is irrelevant if he catches the ball in the air. This is a violation as soon as A2 touches the ball.
OP says A2 has one foot down in front court prior to catching the ball. Where is the second foot? Has A1 fully established himself in the frontcourt?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by trsandy View Post
Our team was called for a back-court violation. The Referee who made the call told me that A2 had to have both feet down prior to catching the ball. I am still puzzled by this call, because, like you said, the player never established possession of the ball in backcourt.
If that's what the official told you, the official is mistaken. If any part of a player is touching frontcourt, and no part of the player is touching backcourt, he is in the frontcourt. If any part of a player is touching backcourt, regardless of any part touching frontcourt, the player is in backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
OP says A2 has one foot down in front court prior to catching the ball. Where is the second foot? Has A1 fully established himself in the frontcourt?
1 Foot in the frontcourt/1 foot in the air = NO VIOLATION (2 feet are NOT required...if the official explained it that way then he was wrong)
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:18am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
OP says A2 has one foot down in front court prior to catching the ball. Where is the second foot? Has A1 fully established himself in the frontcourt?
You're right. Somehow I missed that. My bad. It feels like Monday.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
points of clarification.

(1) A1 is clearly in the Front Court prior to passing the ball to A2 who is airborne over midcourt line at the time of the pass.

(2) A2 clearly had no feet in or on the backcourt when he gains posession of the ball in the front court from A1. He clearly had one foot down in the Front Court when he caught the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by trsandy View Post
points of clarification.

(1) A1 is clearly in the Front Court prior to passing the ball to A2 who is airborne over midcourt line at the time of the pass.

(2) A2 clearly had no feet in or on the backcourt when he gains posession of the ball in the front court from A1. He clearly had one foot down in the Front Court when he caught the ball.
Sounds like the official either made a mistake and tried to cover it by inaccurately explaining the rule, or doesn't know the rule.

Did the official actually say two feet, or did he say he had to establish himself in the frontcourt? If the latter, he may know the rule but judged A2 hadn't touched the frontcourt yet after being airborne from the backcourt.

Bottom line, there are missed calls. Sorry this one appears to have gone against your team.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
here's the worst part of the ruling .... The backcourt referee was standing out of bounds straddling the mid court line and was watching the exchange between A1 and A2. He had perfect vantage point. He did NOT call the infraction. The other referee (who was working his way toward the baseline) made the call !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:42am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by trsandy View Post
here's the worst part of the ruling .... The backcourt referee was standing out of bounds straddling the mid court line and was watching the exchange between A1 and A2. He had perfect vantage point. He did NOT call the infraction. The other referee (who was working his way toward the baseline) made the call !!!!
Sounds like a guy I used to work with.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
backcourt violation

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back Court Violation? shishstripes Basketball 9 Mon Feb 23, 2009 05:59pm
Back court violation stmaryrams Basketball 2 Mon Feb 20, 2006 01:38am
yet another back court violation sny1120 Basketball 3 Sat Feb 26, 2005 05:08pm
back court violation?? The whistle Basketball 22 Mon Feb 09, 2004 05:13am
Back court violation? Cyber-Ref Basketball 7 Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1