![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			Team A has a throw-in.  A1 reaches the ball through the plane and B1 grabs the ball and ties it up.  Should a held ball be called even though A1 is out of bounds?  Where is this in the rule book?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			2011-2012 NFHS Case Book 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			*7.6.4 SITUATION F: Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the endline plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 cannot pull it back. RULING: A held ball is called, resulting in an alternating-possession throw-in. If the original throw-in is an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A still has the arrow following the held ball. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Yes. Around page 63 of the Case Book (but I'm looking at last year's).
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				How's This?
			 
			Quote: 
	
 (Wow, you other guys are fast with your responses! You must have employment like I have where you can just stand by monitoring the forum 12 hours a day at the ready to fire off the first answer possible.) 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
			Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call Last edited by Freddy; Thu Jan 05, 2012 at 04:29pm.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			Not necessarily, if it wasn't an AP throw-in to begin with.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			My bad.  I read the OP be to be throw-in due to a held ball, rather than a held ball on a throw-in.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Pope Francis  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				What do you mean the FIFTH?
			 
			
			
			Is it 2012 already? OK, we've established at least one of us is off to a slow start ... I forget why, if this is an AP situation, the ball doesn't revert to B to inbound on this play. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	And a related query from locker room musings weeks ago by a fellow official: While all contact by a defending reaching across to an inbounder is now deemed an intentional foul, what's the call if, as in the OP above, inbounder A reaches across the imaginary line and then is hacked on the arm? Just a personal foul on B?  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I gotta new attitude!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Either Way
			 
			Quote: 
	
 (Shucks, not quick enough again!) 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Hint:  When does the arrow change?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			If the above play was an alternating possession throw-in, and B1 is able to cause a held ball with thrower A1, it doesn't revert to B because Team A's throw-in hasn't ended and the AP doesn't change unless A commits a violation or until the throw-in is completed.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 But back to my original sheepish question: Why doesn't possession go to Team B if it's AP (held ball) time? There was no violation or foul by B.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			 Because, by rule, the AP throw-in has not yet ended.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Thanks Bob, Hawkeye and APG -- was just buried in my own typing in previous comment/question and didin't see your answers. Seems odd that this could go Groundhog's Day if B did it, say, several times in a row.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
![]()  | 
	
	
		
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Held Ball on the throw in???? | splitveer | Basketball | 2 | Wed Feb 09, 2011 03:19pm | 
| Throw-in held ball question | tadams | Basketball | 6 | Wed Nov 25, 2009 04:05pm | 
| OOB or held ball? | ysong | Basketball | 11 | Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:11pm | 
| held ball | roadking | Basketball | 5 | Wed Mar 31, 2004 05:28am | 
| Held Ball On Throw In | pbrad59 | Basketball | 7 | Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:04pm |