![]() |
|
|
|||
How's This?
Quote:
(Wow, you other guys are fast with your responses! You must have employment like I have where you can just stand by monitoring the forum 12 hours a day at the ready to fire off the first answer possible.)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call Last edited by Freddy; Thu Jan 05, 2012 at 04:29pm. |
|
|||
What do you mean the FIFTH?
Is it 2012 already? OK, we've established at least one of us is off to a slow start ... I forget why, if this is an AP situation, the ball doesn't revert to B to inbound on this play.
And a related query from locker room musings weeks ago by a fellow official: While all contact by a defending reaching across to an inbounder is now deemed an intentional foul, what's the call if, as in the OP above, inbounder A reaches across the imaginary line and then is hacked on the arm? Just a personal foul on B? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Either Way
Quote:
(Shucks, not quick enough again!)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Quote:
But back to my original sheepish question: Why doesn't possession go to Team B if it's AP (held ball) time? There was no violation or foul by B. |
|
|||
Thanks Bob, Hawkeye and APG -- was just buried in my own typing in previous comment/question and didin't see your answers. Seems odd that this could go Groundhog's Day if B did it, say, several times in a row.
|
|
|||
I would say Team A is stupid for repeatedly holding the ball over the plane and allowing Team B to tie them up. Keep the ball on their side of the plane and at worse, they're getting a delay of game warning on B if they cross the plane and miss the ball/thrower.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Just the way it is, though. Case play 6.4.5.B.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
And the first line of that starts, "During an alternating possession throw-in ..." How is it treated differently if this happens during a non-AP determined throw-in? (Sorry, but that was nagging this fuzzbrain since JR brought it up previously.)
Just following through because I get the anxious feeling that, just like playing the same lotto numbers for a while and then quitting -- BAM! -- you know the sitch is going to come up at the next opportunity. After this I merely lurk and learn for a while. Promise. |
|
|||
Hint: When does the arrow change?
|
|
|||
If the above play was an alternating possession throw-in, and B1 is able to cause a held ball with thrower A1, it doesn't revert to B because Team A's throw-in hasn't ended and the AP doesn't change unless A commits a violation or until the throw-in is completed.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Because, by rule, the AP throw-in has not yet ended.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
We Don't Care That Timmy Fell In The Abandoned Well, This Is More Important ...
Quote:
![]() The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team delay warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team delay warning will be recorded. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane, and fouls the inbounding player, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team delay warning will be recorded. It is an intentional personal foul if the defender fouls the inbounding player, even without breaking the imaginary plane, however, in this specific case, there is no delay of game warning because the defender did not break the boundary plane.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
*insert plumber joke here*
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Held Ball on the throw in???? | splitveer | Basketball | 2 | Wed Feb 09, 2011 03:19pm |
Throw-in held ball question | tadams | Basketball | 6 | Wed Nov 25, 2009 04:05pm |
OOB or held ball? | ysong | Basketball | 11 | Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:11pm |
held ball | roadking | Basketball | 5 | Wed Mar 31, 2004 05:28am |
Held Ball On Throw In | pbrad59 | Basketball | 7 | Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:04pm |