The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 23, 2011, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Thankfully it was not my game. I was in the stands watching.
I realize you described 'Per rule procedures'. Right after the play ALL 3 officials are in DEEEEEP do-do. About 99% of Coaches (and officials) wouldn't know the correct ruling. So why not, for the good of the game, just do a redo? That is what they did. They said it was a correctable error.
Because ignorance is no excuse.
Because you further complicate things with another mistake.

Quote:
How would you tell the Home Coach... "We messed up and gave the ball to your team. Then we messed up an allowed your team to commit a backcourt violation. Then your team scored 2 points for the other team. But Hey, don't be mad at us. At least you get the ball and you can run the endline"
Exactly, although I would address it with the coach without the sarcasm.

Quote:
I have talked to 5 oficials so far and all would do a redo.
Well, now you've talked to 6 and 5 would do a redo.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Fri Dec 23, 2011 at 12:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 23, 2011, 12:15pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,676
Did the crew put the consumed time back on the clock? If they didn't, then it's not really a re-do anyway.

This isn't a re-do, as everyone here has said. It's an official's mistake and it's not correctable. Would you go back and call a travel that you missed 6 seconds earlier? If not, why would you think this is any different?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 23, 2011, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Did the crew put the consumed time back on the clock? If they didn't, then it's not really a re-do anyway.

This isn't a re-do, as everyone here has said. It's an official's mistake and it's not correctable. Would you go back and call a travel that you missed 6 seconds earlier? If not, why would you think this is any different?
I am on the side of the officials on this site. Especially when it is a varsity game. They should know and enforce the rules as written. I do not have the power of persuasion. I have bent and broke rules inorder to blend in with the mass majority.
Instead, they took the easy path. Yes... they put time back on the clock. When I had the discussion with other officials I used your 'travel' example as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OB throw in after made basket hoopsaddict Basketball 3 Tue Jan 18, 2011 05:17pm
Throw In after Made Basket actuary77 Basketball 15 Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:25pm
Made basket, Throw in. texaspaul Basketball 2 Sun Dec 02, 2007 08:33pm
Throw-in after made basket FrankHtown Basketball 8 Wed Dec 20, 2006 04:05pm
Throw in after made basket Rodego Basketball 11 Fri Jul 30, 2004 05:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1