The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2011, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Above quote transferred over from the Player Control Foul thread.

Wouldn't it be nice if the rule regarding a player's name being added to the book was logical?
Well, as long as your bringing trouble from the other thread... let me bring over the CE thread. (I'm interloping from the other board, but if I understand the two rules correctly this scenario creates a problem that should probably be addressed by clarifying the rule.)

B has 5 fouls when B1 fouls A1 who is not in the book. A1 is erroneously awarded one and one. He makes both and team B gets the ball. Team B inbounds and calls timeout. A6 reports to replace A1 who takes a seat on the bench. During the timeout it comes to the officials knowledge that A1 was not entitled to free throws in a) before it comes to their knowledge that A1 needs to be added to the book or in b) after it comes to their knowledge that A1 needs to be added to the book. Rulings?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2011, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Can of Yuck

Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Well, as long as your bringing trouble from the other thread... let me bring over the CE thread. (I'm interloping from the other board, but if I understand the two rules correctly this scenario creates a problem that should probably be addressed by clarifying the rule.)

B has 5 fouls when B1 fouls A1 who is not in the book. A1 is erroneously awarded one and one. He makes both and team B gets the ball. Team B inbounds and calls timeout. A6 reports to replace A1 who takes a seat on the bench. During the timeout it comes to the officials knowledge that A1 was not entitled to free throws in a) before it comes to their knowledge that A1 needs to be added to the book or in b) after it comes to their knowledge that A1 needs to be added to the book. Rulings?
When does A6 enter the game? It looks like we a have a timeout before the substitution.

Situation A) I believe we're still in the CE timelimit, so we cancel out the inappropriate free throws. Then we penalize Team A for adding a player ito the book.

Ouch.

Situation B) We give a technical to Team A. Now if your question is referring to the free throws for the technical being taken first, then that would put us beyond the CE timelimit, so we would keep the free throws.

I think that's what you are asking, but I had to take liberties with the interpretation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2011, 07:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Well, Here's Another Fine Mess That You've Gotten Me Into ...

Since A1's free throws were erroneously taken, then there is no need to write anything in the book (points, fouls, missed free throws), so if A1 is now bench personnel, does his name have to be added to the book?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2011, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,274
Usually scorekeepers keep track of free throw attempts...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2011, 08:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Not Usually, By Rule, They Must ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Usually scorekeepers keep track of free throw attempts.
But these were erased.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2011, 08:11pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
But these were erased.
Erased from where? If the free throws were in the book, A1 was already in the book.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2011, 10:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Man, This Is Crazy, Isn't It ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Erased from where? If the free throws were in the book, A1 was already in the book.
And if the scorekeeper added the name to the book after the first free throw, and didn't inform the official about the addition, then it's to late to penalize when the ball becomes live while at the disposal of the free thrower for shot number two. The foul must be charged when it occurs and enforced when the ball next becomes live. Once the ball becomes live, after such changes have been made to the scorebook, it is too late to penalize.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 23, 2011 at 08:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 23, 2011, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
When does A6 enter the game? It looks like we a have a timeout before the substitution.

Situation A) I believe we're still in the CE timelimit, so we cancel out the inappropriate free throws. Then we penalize Team A for adding a player ito the book.

Ouch.

Situation B) We give a technical to Team A. Now if your question is referring to the free throws for the technical being taken first, then that would put us beyond the CE timelimit, so we would keep the free throws.

I think that's what you are asking, but I had to take liberties with the interpretation.
BillyMac may have made this clear below, but the point of the example is that A6 enters the game before any of the fun starts. Hence, the case play applies unless you need to add A1 for some other reason. But A1 didn't score if the free throws don't count.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Substitute Huskerblue Baseball 5 Mon Mar 31, 2008 03:16pm
OBR - illegal substitute David Emerling Baseball 3 Thu Apr 27, 2006 10:22pm
illegal substitute dpomeroy Baseball 3 Thu Jul 08, 2004 08:21am
illegal substitute dpomeroy Baseball 2 Tue Jun 15, 2004 10:58pm
Illegal Courtesy Runner But Legal Substitute!!! Gre144 Baseball 9 Mon Apr 09, 2001 08:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1