![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
No rule dictates how a player must (or must not) begin a dribble. If a dribbler subsequently touches the ball with both hands, that ENDS the dribble. Perhaps that's what you're thinking of.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
4-15-4(c)...
...(The dribble ends when
The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.4-15-3 states how a dribble may be started, but doesn't specifically preclude a two-handed start. If a dribble can't start with two hands, then the so-called "power dribble" must be illegal. What's the correct interpretation on this? |
|
|||
|
The "power dribble" is legal. There is no prohibition about how a dribble is started, as long as the ball is released before the pivot is picked up. One hand, two hands, behind the back, long toss...doesn't matter.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As you seem to be wanting to interpret it, almost any pass that is caught (which will be with two hands) would end a dribble and preclude any further dribble. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Question on starting a dribble | IAUMP | Basketball | 8 | Fri Nov 05, 2010 01:26pm |
| starting a dribble | rsl | Basketball | 14 | Wed Nov 04, 2009 02:00pm |
| Illegal dribble, traveling or nothing? | bobref1 | Basketball | 6 | Thu Dec 07, 2006 12:24am |
| Traveling? Double Dribble? No call? | Buckley11 | Basketball | 17 | Sun Jan 19, 2003 05:47am |
| Two Questions - Traveling? and Goaltending? | drinkeii | Basketball | 25 | Sat Jul 13, 2002 11:40am |