The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Illegal dribble, traveling or nothing?

New official question. A1 dribbling goes to stop dribble and loses control of ball, not touched by defender, and recovers two to three steps away from where she tried to stop her dribble. What do you have? Thanks for any advice in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobref1
New official question. A1 dribbling goes to stop dribble and loses control of ball, not touched by defender, and recovers two to three steps away from where she tried to stop her dribble. What do you have? Thanks for any advice in advance.
Depending on exactly what happened, it's either an interrupted dribble or a fumble. Either way, it's legal for A1 to recover the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,643
If in the opinion of the referee, the player lost control of the ball, then there is nothing wrong with going and retreiving it. It is a legal play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 10:10pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
A1 can also continue the dribble as long as she does not pick it up while recovering it. I mean if it is still bouncing then she can continue in time withthe bounce. Like has been said it is legal to recover the interupted or fumbled dribble, and catching the ball would then plant her to the floor at that spot. (with a pivot of course).
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
A1 can also continue the dribble as long as she does not pick it up while recovering it. I mean if it is still bouncing then she can continue in time withthe bounce. Like has been said it is legal to recover the interupted or fumbled dribble, and catching the ball would then plant her to the floor at that spot. (with a pivot of course).
bobref1 stated that the dribbler "goes to stop dribble and loses control of ball." If she touches the ball with both hands but loses player control, she can retrieve the ball. But the dribble has ended, so she cannot continue it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2006, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
bobref1 stated that the dribbler "goes to stop dribble and loses control of ball." If she touches the ball with both hands but loses player control, she can retrieve the ball. But the dribble has ended, so she cannot continue it.
Great point, Tony.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,643
4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to dribble; (b) the ball bounces away but A1 is able to get to it and continues to dribble; (c) the ball hits A1's foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and pick it up; or (d) A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it. RULING: Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor. In (b), even though the dribble was interrupted it has not ended and A1 may continue the dribble. In (c), the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; and it ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even though the dribble has ended in (c) and (d), A1 may recover the ball. (9-5)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal dribble? just another ref Basketball 96 Mon Sep 18, 2006 06:58am
Illegal start of a dribble? RefLarry Basketball 20 Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm
illegal dribble elecref Basketball 22 Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm
Illegal Dribble huskyz Basketball 20 Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm
Traveling? Double Dribble? No call? Buckley11 Basketball 17 Sun Jan 19, 2003 05:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1