View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2011, 12:16am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave9819 View Post
Hello,

I was thinking of a few different scenarios and needed some opinions on the correct ruling.

1. Team A has the ball for a throw-in at the division line. (a) A1 throws the ball in and it hits off of A1 who is behind the 3pt. line and goes through the basket. (b) A1 throws the ball in and it his off of B1 who is behind the 3pt line and the ball goes in. Do we have a 3pt goal in both cases?
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave9819 View Post
What if time expires after it hits off of A1 or B1 but before it goes through the basket?
No, they are not shots.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave9819 View Post
Does any of this change if this is a pass from A1 who is dribbling the ball in-bounds at the division line?
No, they would still be 2 point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave9819 View Post
What would be the ruling if A1 attempts a 3-point shot, but the shot is short and B1 accidently tips the ball in (after the try or tap for goal is judged to be unsuccessful, so we would not have any Basket Interference or Goal Tending)? Would it be a 2pt or 3pt goal? I believe it should be a 3pt. goal.

Thanks!
You would have 3 point shot because touching the ball by the defense does not change the status of the shot and where it was taken from.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote