The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2011, 12:44pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Maybe (hopefully) the answer key is wrong?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2011, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
A1 can be outside a boundary and still not yet be "out of bounds" yet by definition. Think save in mid air....

So change B to read:

B. any person, floor or object out of bounds

But that still leaves 2 right answers instead of "all of the above".

Unless the backboard supports by definition are not OOB...don't have any books here.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2011, 01:44pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
A1 can be outside a boundary and still not yet be "out of bounds" yet by definition. Think save in mid air....

So change B to read:

B. any person, floor or object out of bounds

But that still leaves 2 right answers instead of "all of the above".

Unless the backboard supports by definition are not OOB...don't have any books here.
A "save in mid air" outside a boundary yet still in bounds must be done by a player, and a player is not a person. (Ignore the connotation. )

So (B) is included for that reason.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2011, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
A1 can be outside a boundary and still not yet be "out of bounds" yet by definition. Think save in mid air....

So change B to read:

B. any person, floor or object out of bounds

But that still leaves 2 right answers instead of "all of the above".

Unless the backboard supports by definition are not OOB...don't have any books here.
"Person" in B does not include players. It includes bench personnel, fans, etc.

All of the above, as written in the OP is correct.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2011, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
D was/is my final answer.....just trying to talk through why some association may have a different answer other than "d".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2011, 12:18pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Maybe (hopefully) the answer key is wrong?
I believe this is what happened. I believe the issue has been corrected. Thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I missing something here? mkuk Baseball 27 Sun May 09, 2010 09:12pm
What am I missing? TexBlue Softball 13 Sat Aug 13, 2005 09:27pm
Am I missing something? TruBlu Softball 49 Sat Aug 30, 2003 06:57am
What is missing? fletch_irwin_m Basketball 11 Sat Sep 21, 2002 10:12am
missing 1B greymule Baseball 12 Sat Jul 13, 2002 10:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1