The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   7-1-2: What am I missing? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/83533-7-1-2-what-am-i-missing.html)

tjones1 Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:58am

7-1-2: What am I missing?
 
The ball is out of bounds when it touches…
A. a player who is out of bounds
B. any person, floor or object outside a boundary
C. supports or back of backboard
D. all the above

just another ref Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:11am

the ceiling, overhead equipment or supports.

Also, when it passes over a rectangular backboard

tjones1 Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:15am

Right.

But, answer the question as written.

just another ref Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:18am

d

just another ref Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:19am

What do I win?

JugglingReferee Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 801014)
The ball is out of bounds when it touches…
A. a player who is out of bounds
B. any person, floor or object outside a boundary
C. supports or back of backboard
D. all the above

Is the ball out of bounds when it touches a player who is out of bounds? Yes.

Is the ball out of bounds when it touches any person, floor or object outside a boundary? Yes.

Is the ball out of bounds when it touches a supports or back of backboard? Yes.

So then your answer to the question is (D). These 3 cases may not be all the cases which cause the ball to become dead, but they're all true. IOW, it's options are correct, but incomplete.

tjones1 Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 801026)
What do I win?

A free month to post on Officiating.com - I'm buying! :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 801027)
Is the ball out of bounds when it touches a player who is out of bounds? Yes.

Is the ball out of bounds when it touches any person, floor or object outside a boundary? Yes.

Is the ball out of bounds when it touches a supports or back of backboard? Yes.

So then your answer to the question is (D). These 3 cases may not be all the cases which cause the ball to become dead, but they're all true. IOW, it's options are correct, but incomplete.

Jugs, I agree it's incomplete; however, as written I agree the answer is D - a certain state association doesn't agree.

Edit: I must be missing something.

JugglingReferee Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 801031)
A free month to post on Officiating.com - I'm buying! :D



Jugs, I agree it's incomplete; however, as written I agree the answer is D - a certain state association doesn't agree.

Edit: I must be missing something.

Did they say why or what in particular causes (D) to not be the correct answer?

Maybe they supplied option (E) in invisible ink?

tjones1 Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 801036)
Did they say why or what in particular causes (D) to not be the correct answer?

Maybe they supplied option (E) in invisible ink?

They haven't yet. I'm trying to get clarification as to why the answer isn't 'D'.

Welpe Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:44pm

Maybe (hopefully) the answer key is wrong?

CoachP Thu Dec 01, 2011 01:30pm

A1 can be outside a boundary and still not yet be "out of bounds" yet by definition. Think save in mid air....

So change B to read:

B. any person, floor or object out of bounds

But that still leaves 2 right answers instead of "all of the above".

Unless the backboard supports by definition are not OOB...don't have any books here.

JugglingReferee Thu Dec 01, 2011 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 801068)
A1 can be outside a boundary and still not yet be "out of bounds" yet by definition. Think save in mid air....

So change B to read:

B. any person, floor or object out of bounds

But that still leaves 2 right answers instead of "all of the above".

Unless the backboard supports by definition are not OOB...don't have any books here.

A "save in mid air" outside a boundary yet still in bounds must be done by a player, and a player is not a person. (Ignore the connotation. :eek:)

So (B) is included for that reason.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 01, 2011 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 801068)
A1 can be outside a boundary and still not yet be "out of bounds" yet by definition. Think save in mid air....

So change B to read:

B. any person, floor or object out of bounds

But that still leaves 2 right answers instead of "all of the above".

Unless the backboard supports by definition are not OOB...don't have any books here.

"Person" in B does not include players. It includes bench personnel, fans, etc.

All of the above, as written in the OP is correct.

CoachP Thu Dec 01, 2011 02:54pm

D was/is my final answer.....just trying to talk through why some association may have a different answer other than "d".

tjones1 Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 801059)
Maybe (hopefully) the answer key is wrong?

I believe this is what happened. I believe the issue has been corrected. Thanks everyone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1