The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:11pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,580
No they cannot call a timeout because the ball is not at their disposal anymore and the other team now has a chance to get the ball. I would equate this like an interrupted dribble or fumble.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
No they cannot call a timeout because the ball is not at their disposal anymore and the other team now has a chance to get the ball. I would equate this like an interrupted dribble or fumble.

Peace
No longer at their disposal? Based on what?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:27pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No longer at their disposal? Based on what?
The thrower once has the ball and now the ball is rolling around on the court. The throw-in has not ended, but they do not have control of it anymore. Not sure how you can call a time out if you no longer have the ball in your possession. That is my take without some hard rules evidence to dispute that point of view.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The thrower once has the ball and now the ball is rolling around on the court. The throw-in has not ended, but they do not have control of it anymore. Not sure how you can call a time out if you no longer have the ball in your possession. That is my take without some hard rules evidence to dispute that point of view.

Peace
The same way a team can request a timeout when the official puts the ball down for RPP. They aren't holding it, but it's still at their disposal.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:40pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The same way a team can request a timeout when the official puts the ball down for RPP. They aren't holding it, but it's still at their disposal.
Do you have a reference that suggests the ball is still at their disposal after a fumble?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:44pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Do you have a reference that suggests the ball is still at their disposal after a fumble?

Peace
The same number of references you have to show it's not.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 01:01pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The same number of references you have to show it's not.
According to the definition of "At Disposal" it does not suggest a player is still in the disposal of the thrower.

Also the definition of fumble means an accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally drops or slips from the player's grasp.

Now obviously there is no player control of a ball from a thrower by rule but that was the word used in the case play.

I am just not sure there is any support that the ball is still at the disposal of the thrower (9.1.1 does not give that support either).

All I am asking is for support by rule. I am not sure we can give a timeout when the player is responsible for losing the ball and going to violate and the ball is no longer by definition at their disposal.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2011, 02:37pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Do you have a reference that suggests the ball is still at their disposal after a fumble?

Peace
The OP did not say that the ball entered the court. If it entered the court, it was just a poorly executed throw-in. If it did not, he still has 5 seconds, even if his arms are not long enough to throw it in legally by retrieving it without leaving the spot.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The same way a team can request a timeout when the official puts the ball down for RPP. They aren't holding it, but it's still at their disposal.
I think that there's a relevant difference. When the ball is on the floor during RPP, it's at the disposal of the player because he can pick it up without violating. Once he's fumbled it away from the spot, he can't.

I don't think the ball is still at his disposal; I'm not sure it follows that he can't call a TO. IOW, I'm not convinced the issue turns on whether the ball is at the disposal of A.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
The ball is also at the player's disposal when it's rolling on the floor after a made basket.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
No they cannot call a timeout because the ball is not at their disposal anymore and the other team now has a chance to get the ball. I would equate this like an interrupted dribble or fumble.

Peace
How exactly does the other team have the "chance to get the ball"?

Last edited by fiasco; Thu Nov 10, 2011 at 12:21pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
designated throw in spot? fan Basketball 5 Fri Nov 30, 2007 03:46pm
Designated Throw-In Spot 7-6-2 PConley Basketball 2 Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:26pm
Designated spot throw ins Art N Basketball 14 Tue Jan 16, 2001 08:29am
Designated Spot Throw-in Fox40 Basketball 4 Sun Oct 24, 1999 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1