![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Until A1 touches it again (a positive act), we don't deem it a dribble. It is the touching that makes it a violation. In the shot clock situation, the underlying concept is a team can't maintain team control or possession more than the allotted shot clock period (noteing that various unrelated things pause or reset the count such as defensive violations, fouls, or timeouts). They must release a "try" before the time expires and the horn sounds. However, for the purposes of the shot clock rule (not fouls), the "try" is not considered a "try" unless it hits the rim. This is to prevent a team from throwing it "near" the basket to a teammate in an attempt to circumvent the rule. This is an attempt discussing the concept of the rule, not the letter of the rule. Now note the wording of the rule... Art. 2. It is a violation when a try for field goal does not leave the shooter’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time or a try does not subsequently strike the ring or flange or enter the basket. I think the word "subsequently" may suggest that the violation has already occurred at the time of the horn but is delayed to see if the ball hits the rim or to in order to determine if the try is "good enough" to reset the clock. If not, the team didn't satisfy the requirement to release a legitimate "try" before the horn.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw-in spot | tymorton | Basketball | 29 | Tue Dec 29, 2009 06:45pm |
Where is throw-in spot? | Daryl H. Long | Basketball | 9 | Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:52pm |
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |
Throw-In Spot | wizard | Basketball | 10 | Fri Dec 26, 2003 04:29pm |
spot of throw in | Troward | Basketball | 2 | Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:21am |