The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Where is throw-in spot?

NC/MD womens semifinal. MD scores with 27 seconds remaining. Clock stops. NC Player rolls ball up court. As the ball nears division line the clock starts before the ball is touched. The referee blows whistle, and corrects the clock back to proper time. She then administers throwin for NC at the division line. Announcer explained by saying it was an "inadvertant whistle".

Watching at a relatives house and no NCAA rule books handy.

This could also happen in NF for example if there was a timeout following the made basket.

My gut says have to go back to baseline.

What would you do...NF or NCAA? Rule references please?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
I don't have my books w/ me but I would say TI is spot closest to where the ball was when the whistle was blown..similar to the ball is taken OOB at the spot closest to where a violation occurs.
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmp44
I don't have my books w/ me but I would say TI is spot closest to where the ball was when the whistle was blown..similar to the ball is taken OOB at the spot closest to where a violation occurs.
1. No violation has occurred.
2. Remember we have a live ball inbounds and untouched. The throw in has not been completed.

Again, my gut tells me that the NCAA rules specifiacally address how to put the ball in play after an inadvertant whistle and if I remember correctly it say if the throw in has not been completed the throw in would be administered from the original throw in spot. To me this means take it back to the baseline.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2006, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
To clarify a point:

I really do not believe this falls under the definition of "inadvertant whistle"...as mentioned by the announcer.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 01:43am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long
NC/MD womens semifinal. MD scores with 27 seconds remaining. Clock stops. NC Player rolls ball up court. As the ball nears division line the clock starts before the ball is touched. The referee blows whistle, and corrects the clock back to proper time. She then administers throwin for NC at the division line. Announcer explained by saying it was an "inadvertant whistle".

Watching at a relatives house and no NCAA rule books handy.

This could also happen in NF for example if there was a timeout following the made basket.

My gut says have to go back to baseline.

What would you do...NF or NCAA? Rule references please?
Daryl, the NCAA rules cite is rule 2-6-1AR10:
With four seconds left on the game clock, A1 is throwing in the ball to A2. The timer incorrectly starts the game clock before the passed ball touches or is legally touched by an in-bounds player. The official recognized the timer's mistake while the passed ball is in flight.
RULING: Since the timer has made a mistake, the official, with definite knowledge, shall place the correct time back on the game clock. Play shall be resumed with a throw-in by team A from the original throw-in spot.


Looks like they screwed that one up.

There is no definitive ruling under NFHS rules. I would handle it the same way as the NCAA. MTD Sr. wouldn't. This will now give you and him something to do during those long drives to AAU tournaments.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 228
Send a message via AIM to PGCougar
There was no replay, but it seemed to me that a MD defender jumped into the backcourt to force UNC to pick up the ball. The MD defender jabbed and then retreated. It did look like UNC touched the ball slightly as the ball rolled in a different direction after the touch and the clock started running. That's when the whistle occurred and the official approached the table.

Question: Should the timer be watching the official to start on their signal or the ball? Sorry, don't have my booklets handy today.
__________________
There are two kinds of fools:
One says, “This is old, therefore it is good”; the other says, “This is new, therefore it is better.” - W.R. Inge
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 11:58am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 21
Wink Throw-In Spot

Agree with the previous person that the spot goes back to the original TI spot on the endline. At the NCAA level all the officials are using the Precision Time box on their waistband so if the button was not pushed by the new trail official in that scenario then the clock should not have been started. It was a good catch by the T but it should gone back to the endline.

mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by sphinxicu
At the NCAA level all the officials are using the Precision Time box on their waistband
Are we sure about this?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
this would be from the spot of the original throw in since no time has run off the clock. If the clock has started then I would inbound POI

but the anouncer once again blew the call since it isn't an inadvertant whistle.

Did the camera man do antything wrong on this play cause everyone else blew it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 03, 2006, 12:52pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
this would be from the spot of the original throw in since no time has run off the clock. If the clock has started then I would inbound POI
Say what?

Please go back and re-read the original post of this thread. You very obviously mis-read it. It says that the clock started before the ball was touched. Time suresasheck did run off the clock; that's why it was a timer's mistake.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw-In Spot wizard Basketball 10 Fri Dec 26, 2003 04:29pm
Spot throw in psychobat Basketball 11 Wed Dec 10, 2003 04:21am
3-second throw-in spot TriggerMN Basketball 5 Mon Dec 08, 2003 09:13am
Throw-in spot Mlancaster Basketball 8 Mon Jan 15, 2001 07:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1