The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2011, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
What is in red is incorrect by rule. The try ends when it is clear that it will not be successful and that is well before the ball strikes the floor. Now if you look at the NCAA rules for the location of a ball in flight, you will find that it is considered to be at the place where it last contacted the court or was touched by a player. It is not simply a point straight below where it was in flight. That is what you are failing to appreciate.


Please read the paragraph above. You are thinking the same way as that poster.
The shot-clock horn does not stop play unless recognized by an official’s whistle. By this time the ball will be close to the floor if not already in contact. "Clear that it will not be successful", what exactly does that mean? A ball that is shot 50 feet into the air from half court, is probably not going to be successful, but how do I know for sure? Unless I wait until it comes down and strikes the floor or is below ring level, which by the time a whistle is given the ball is most likely contacting the floor at that point.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2011, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 201
Check these out:

1) Board 41 Nassau County New York
2) http://ds062.k12.sd.us/activities%20...clockrules.pdf

They read:

1) "A-1 shoots and misses rim, horn, shot clock violation, ball to Team B at endline"

2) "If the try is unsuccessful and the ball doesn’t hit the rim or flange you have a shot clock violation, a whistle is sounded by the referee and Team B is awarded a throw-in on the end line"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2011, 10:05am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHSAA View Post
The shot-clock horn does not stop play unless recognized by an official’s whistle. By this time the ball will be close to the floor if not already in contact. "Clear that it will not be successful", what exactly does that mean? A ball that is shot 50 feet into the air from half court, is probably not going to be successful, but how do I know for sure? Unless I wait until it comes down and strikes the floor or is below ring level, which by the time a whistle is given the ball is most likely contacting the floor at that point.
The whistle does not make the ball dead on volations; a basic fundamental. At this point, the whistle is just recognition of a dead ball, which happened while the ball was in the air.

I'm not arguing accepted practice, but it seems to me the rule itself is clear that the ball should be put in play from the spot nearest the point from where it was shot.

And your references above are not official; they are local interpretations. It's like quoting a local beat cop's interpretation of search and seizure laws.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Mon Aug 15, 2011 at 10:16am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2011, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The whistle does not make the ball dead on volations; a basic fundamental. At this point, the whistle is just recognition of a dead ball, which happened while the ball was in the air.

I'm not arguing accepted practice, but it seems to me the rule itself is clear that the ball should be put in play from the spot nearest the point from where it was shot.
But the ball is still live in the air even though the horn sounded. Until it is unsuccessful, which we do not know until it is clearly unsuccessful (falling below the ring and/or striking the floor)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2011, 10:50am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHSAA View Post
But the ball is still live in the air even though the horn sounded. Until it is unsuccessful, which we do not know until it is clearly unsuccessful (falling below the ring and/or striking the floor)
The violation occurs when the ball falls below the ring; the fact that the whistle likely won't blow until it hits the floor is irrelevant.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2011, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The violation occurs when the ball falls below the ring; the fact that the whistle likely won't blow until it hits the floor is irrelevant.
But the whistle acknowledges the violation. There is nothing until the whistle. I agree about the violation but by the time the whistle is blown the ball is falling to the court, if not already contacting it
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2011, 11:18am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHSAA View Post
But the whistle acknowledges the violation. There is nothing until the whistle. I agree about the violation but by the time the whistle is blown the ball is falling to the court, if not already contacting it
I recognize that shot clock violations are a special animal, but the whistle doesn't matter for timing.

A1 dribbling, steps out of bounds. Just after he steps out, B1 comes up and shoves him. The whistle then blows for the OOB violation.
Is this an intentional personal, or intentional technical foul?

A1, with the ball in the BC, passes towards A2 in the FC. As the ball is in flight, A3 and B3 commit a double foul. Before the official can blow his whistle for the foul, A2 catches the ball in the FC. Where are you administering the throw-in for the POI?

A1 with the ball in the backcourt (FT line) as the count approaches 10. Just as the official hits 9, he launches a rainbow pass towards A2 on the front court endline. The whistle blows just as the ball is about to bounce at the FT line in the FC. Where are you inbounding?

A1 shoots a 3 pt shot, while the ball is in flight, B2 and A2 commit a double foul. The whistle blows after the ball misses everything and lands in the lane. Where is your POI?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2011, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 201
I understand all of these, but why would the ball go back to where it was shot?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in spot tymorton Basketball 29 Tue Dec 29, 2009 06:45pm
Where is throw-in spot? Daryl H. Long Basketball 9 Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:52pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw-In Spot wizard Basketball 10 Fri Dec 26, 2003 04:29pm
spot of throw in Troward Basketball 2 Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1