The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Post Legal Guarding Positon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
B1 has lgp. A1 jumps and his hip hits B1's shoulder, knocking both to the floor. I'll defer to the guy with the best view of the actual contact and assume the contact was enough for a foul. I'm with MTD, Sr., on this one.
In fact B1 never obtain legal guarding position.
NFHS Rule 4-23-2.
To obtain an initial legal guarding position:
A. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
B. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent.
This can be seen at the start of video.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 11:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
In fact B1 never obtain legal guarding position.
NFHS Rule 4-23-2.
To obtain an initial legal guarding position:
A. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
B. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent.
This can be seen at the start of video.
At :02 and :11 seconds (the picture is much clearer at :11), you can see B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor. A1's foot is still on the floor prior to his takeoff. He does have LGP. His problem is, it doesn't allow him to lean his shoulder to the right to force contact.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2011, 12:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Post Legal Guarding Positon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
At :02 and :11 seconds (the picture is much clearer at :11), you can see B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor. A1's foot is still on the floor prior to his takeoff. He does have LGP. His problem is, it doesn't allow him to lean his shoulder to the right to force contact.
By that time (:11) B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor he is late, he did not met the requirements under rule 4-23-2
At :02 B1 is just in the lane, and by the time :11 A1 had already started his shot. BLOCK on B1
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2011, 08:51am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
By that time (:11) B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor he is late, he did not met the requirements under rule 4-23-2
At :02 B1 is just in the lane, and by the time :11 A1 had already started his shot. BLOCK on B1
Why do you keep bringing up "started his shot"? It has nothing to do with the play.

It's a block in this play b/c of the unnatural width of B1's stance which is what caused the contact between B1's leg and A1's foot.

BTW, I just realized I know the calling official in this video. I'm gonna have to ask him about this play when I see him this fall.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Aug 01, 2011 at 08:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2011, 10:54am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
By that time (:11) B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor he is late, he did not met the requirements under rule 4-23-2
At :02 B1 is just in the lane, and by the time :11 A1 had already started his shot. BLOCK on B1
Again the applicable rule is 4-23-4b. Also, you stated he never obtained LGP, when in fact he did. He got it, at the latest, right before A1 took off. His problem is that LGP does not allow him to lean sideways into contact, which he did, thus earning the block. Had he not leaned and still been run over, the timing was in his favor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2011, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Again the applicable rule is 4-23-4b. Also, you stated he never obtained LGP, when in fact he did. He got it, at the latest, right before A1 took off. His problem is that LGP does not allow him to lean sideways into contact, which he did, thus earning the block. Had he not leaned and still been run over, the timing was in his favor.
B1 got to his spot at least right before A1 took off by that time A1 was in the act of shooting B1 is late.

@ :10 A1 has gathered the ball this is the start of his layup/shot, 2 feet in the air dribble has ended. B1 as you can see @:02 B1 has not established LGP, B1 has 2 feet on playing court but his torso is not face A1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You Make The Call!! basketball45 Basketball 1 Sat Jan 09, 2010 08:20pm
Make the call cmckenna Baseball 16 Tue May 23, 2006 03:32am
You make the call 2... w_sohl Basketball 10 Thu Jan 24, 2002 10:11pm
You make the call.... w_sohl Basketball 6 Thu Jan 24, 2002 07:08pm
You make the call.... w_sohl Basketball 2 Wed Jan 16, 2002 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1