The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 12:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Ok, first, I still maintain that B1 has LGP, but after watching it a little more closely, I agree he continued to slide to his right after A1 went airborne. There would have been no contact had he maintained the spot he held when A1 took off.

block, but I think it's close enough to give the official a pass.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Question Completely irrelevant

Thanks Snaqwells and BillyMac for getting me back into my NFHS rule book.
Rule 4-11-1 Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.
Rule 4-23-1 Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. There is no minimum distance required between the guard and opponent, but the maximum is 6 feet when closely guarded. Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or let into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position in contact occurs.
Rule 4-41-1 The act of shooting begins simultaneously with the start of the try or tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight, and includes the airborne shooter.
Rule 4-41-3 The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 03:16pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Not sure what point you're trying to get across there NoFear? Are you disagreeing with what Snaq said?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 03:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
And nowhere does it say the defender has to be in that position before the shooting motion begins.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
And nowhere does it say the defender has to be in that position before the shooting motion begins.
Rule 4-23-1 Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.

4-41-3 The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.

So when the offensive player starts or gathers the ball s/he is considered to be shooting, the defensive player must be at the spot if not defensive foul.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 06:39pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
Rule 4-23-1 Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.

4-41-3 The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.

So when the offensive player starts or gathers the ball s/he is considered to be shooting, the defensive player must be at the spot if not defensive foul.
And still, nothing there says a a defender has to be in position before the player gathers the ball. 4-41-3 is only of importance when determining whether continuous motion will apply on a foul by a defensive player. Even in the NBA, which requires a defender to get to a legal guarding position earlier than NCAA/NF, they only require the player be there before the offensive player starts his upward motion.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 06:58pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
10.6.1 Situation A: B1 takes a certain spot on the court before A1 jumps in the air to catch a pass: (a) A1 lands on B1; or (b) B1 moves to a new spot while A1 is airborne. A1 lands on one foot and then charges in B1.

RULING: In (a) and (b), the foul is on A1. (4-23-5d)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 07:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
Rule 4-23-1 Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.

4-41-3 The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.

So when the offensive player starts or gathers the ball s/he is considered to be shooting, the defensive player must be at the spot if not defensive foul.
So A1, moving quickly and taking long strides, gathers for a layup at around 25 feet away from the hoop. He gathers with both feet in the air, mid stride, lands on his right foot (at the three point line), takes one more stride with his left (just inside the free throw line) and launches off that left foot for a dunk. B1 got into position as A1 was midstrde between his right and left feet You're calling a block? You're using the wrong rule. The rule you quote (4-41-3) does not state when the defender must get to his spot, its only purpose is to determine whether a shot counts with a defensive foul before the ball is released.

APG's case play and the rule it notes (4-23-5) would be a great place to start.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 07:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Nice play. It's a block.
__________________
"players must decide the outcome of the game with legal actions, not illegal actions which an official chooses to ignore."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
What contact there was: - did not disadvantage/impede the defense they were already on the way to the floor. - did not disadvantage/impede the offense, shot was made and offense trying to avoid contact with a falling object causes him to end up with an awkward landing not the contact it self.

Seems to me to be a clear no call LGP, responsibility for contact aside etc.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 09:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
Nice play. It's a block.
Well color me shawked!
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2011, 03:36pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
No call from me. Great offensive move; inadequate defensive move.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Post You're calling a block? YES.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
So A1, moving quickly and taking long strides, gathers for a layup at around 25 feet away from the hoop. He gathers with both feet in the air, mid stride, lands on his right foot (at the three point line), takes one more stride with his left (just inside the free throw line) and launches off that left foot for a dunk. B1 got into position as A1 was midstrde between his right and left feet You're calling a block? You're using the wrong rule. The rule you quote (4-41-3) does not state when the defender must get to his spot, its only purpose is to determine whether a shot counts with a defensive foul before the ball is released.

APG's case play and the rule it notes (4-23-5) would be a great place to start.
YES I think you might have it know, although the strides in this particular play are a bit unrealistic but if someone where able to realize such a distance it would be legal.
Rule 4- 41 is trying to tell you when the shot has begun.
I have not received the NFHS 2011-12 Case Book.
What is APG?
NFHS Rule 4-23-5 speaks of guarding a moving opponent without the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 11:56pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
YES I think you might have it know, although the strides in this particular play are a bit unrealistic but if someone where able to realize such a distance it would be legal.
Rule 4- 41 is trying to tell you when the shot has begun.
I have not received the NFHS 2011-12 Case Book.
What is APG?
NFHS Rule 4-23-5 speaks of guarding a moving opponent without the ball.
APG=short hand for my username.

Rule 4-41 tells us when the try begins, but that has nothing to do with whether a defender got a LGP in time. Knowing when the try begins is only important in determining if continuous motion will apply on a defensive foul.

Also guarding a moving opponent without the ball is the same as guarding a moving opponent with the ball with the only exception being that time and distance apply to a defender trying to gain LGP against the moving defender without the ball.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 11:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
YES I think you might have it know, although the strides in this particular play are a bit unrealistic but if someone where able to realize such a distance it would be legal.
Rule 4- 41 is trying to tell you when the shot has begun.
I have not received the NFHS 2011-12 Case Book.
What is APG?
NFHS Rule 4-23-5 speaks of guarding a moving opponent without the ball.
The distances aren't that out of line, frankly. 6 foot strides for a fast moving player isn't unheard of.

Okay, "APG" = "AllPurposeGamer". He posted the case play, even quoted it so you don't need your book. Also, check out case play 10.6.1C, in particular the ruling portion, which states in part:
Quote:
B1 is entitled to the position gained legally before A1 left the floor
You're right, I hadn't read the rule book today. It's 4-23-4b
Quote:
If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor.
Note that it doesn't say position must be gained before the shooting motion has begun; only that it must be gained before the opponent leaves the floor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Mon Aug 01, 2011 at 12:02am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You Make The Call!! basketball45 Basketball 1 Sat Jan 09, 2010 08:20pm
Make the call cmckenna Baseball 16 Tue May 23, 2006 03:32am
You make the call 2... w_sohl Basketball 10 Thu Jan 24, 2002 10:11pm
You make the call.... w_sohl Basketball 6 Thu Jan 24, 2002 07:08pm
You make the call.... w_sohl Basketball 2 Wed Jan 16, 2002 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1