![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
And, it doesn't have to be violent or savage when we're talking about T's...just a extreme or gross unsporting misbehavior.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jul 06, 2011 at 01:21pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
What you are referring to is the provision that makes a team member a legal player once the ball becomes live, if there had been some sort of illegal substitution during a dead ball period. It is two very different situations and 3-3-3 is only applicable to the latter. |
|
||||
It's definitely not written for this situation, and the way it's written leaves some potential holes, IMO.
Situation 1: Official counts 5 for each team and administers the throw-in. After about 30 seconds of action, A6 commits a PC/charging foul. Table informs the official that A6 had entered during live play immediately prior to receiving the pass. Was he a legal player? What sort of foul do you charge?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
BTW that very rule and T demonstrates the inability of trying to apply your citation to such situations. If the ball of dead for a throw-in and then play was restarted with one team having six on the court, your citation would make them all legal players. That cannot be the case. |
|
||||
Quote:
Or, an alternative. Following a multiple substitution, the official miscounts and A begins the play with 4 players. A6 jumps in mid-play, catches the pass, and runs over B1. As the official reports the PC foul, the table informs him that A6 did not enter legally. Was A6 ever a legal player?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Right now, I'm leaning towards any points scored count and penalizing not only the team with a T for more than five participating (or an illegal substitution T to a particular individual, if appropriate for the circumstances) AND penalizing any contact fouls by a non-player as technical fouls to that individual. Until then...shut up. ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
NFHS Case Play 10.4.5 Situation E page 84 | Robert E. Harrison | Basketball | 15 | Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:21pm |
Case Play | ejstuart | Soccer | 3 | Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am |
NFHS 2002 Case book play 1.5.6 | Mike Simonds | Football | 11 | Mon Mar 03, 2003 12:45pm |