The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
What if A2 was fouled while in the act?
Can a non-player commit a personal foul?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Exactly... I'm just thinking what if during the block, he knocks down the shooter as well?
But as you pointed out, a personal foul can only be committed by a legal "player".
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Can a non-player commit a personal foul?
A personal foul can only be committed by a player. In this case, the substitute would not be able to commit a personal foul.
However, I think the contact by the substitute is important in determiningwhether the act is unsporting, for the block shot only, or a flagrant, for the illegal contact.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
However, I think the contact by the substitute is important in determiningwhether the act is unsporting, for the block shot only, or a flagrant, for the illegal contact.
I believe coming off the bench to participate in a EOG situation & affecting the opponents opportunity to tie the game, in it & of itself is unsporting.

If flagrant, it would have to be a flagrant personal (live ball) not technical. I dont see merely knocking down a shooter ever being a flagrant foul as it has nothing to do with violent or savage acts.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!

Last edited by tref; Wed Jul 06, 2011 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
If flagrant, it would have to be a flagrant personal (live ball) not technical.
No, bench personnel cannot commit personal fouls. Any foul committed by bench personnel would be technical. If the foul were flagrant, it would be a flagrant technical.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
No, bench personnel cannot commit personal fouls. Any foul committed by bench personnel would be technical. If the foul were flagrant, it would be a flagrant technical.
I would think that bench personnel coming onto the court and interfering with the play by making contact with a player would be flagrant in just about any case.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
I believe coming off the bench to participate in a EOG situation & affecting the opponents opportunity to tie the game, in it & of itself is unsporting.

If flagrant, it would have to be a flagrant personal (live ball) not technical. I dont see merely knocking down a shooter ever being a flagrant foul as it has nothing to do with violent or savage acts.
Yes, it is a live ball but it is not really a contact foul. Contact fouls are committed by players. ANYTHING a non-player does is a technical foul.

And, it doesn't have to be violent or savage when we're talking about T's...just a extreme or gross unsporting misbehavior.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jul 06, 2011 at 01:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 03:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Yes, it is a live ball but it is not really a contact foul. Contact fouls are committed by players. ANYTHING a non-player does is a technical foul.

And, it doesn't have to be violent or savage when we're talking about T's...just a extreme or gross unsporting misbehavior.
Hmmm. If a bench player enters the game during a live ball, isn't that player now a legal player? 3-3-3

OTOH, once you see that player enter, you've got a dead ball due to a technical foul, and thus any contact after that is dead ball contact and this entire half of the thread is moot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Hmmm. If a bench player enters the game during a live ball, isn't that player now a legal player? 3-3-3
No, the definition of a player is one of the five team members LEGALLY on the court during playing time. A team member entering illegally wouldn't meet that standard.

What you are referring to is the provision that makes a team member a legal player once the ball becomes live, if there had been some sort of illegal substitution during a dead ball period.

It is two very different situations and 3-3-3 is only applicable to the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 04:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
It's definitely not written for this situation, and the way it's written leaves some potential holes, IMO.

Situation 1:
Official counts 5 for each team and administers the throw-in. After about 30 seconds of action, A6 commits a PC/charging foul.

Table informs the official that A6 had entered during live play immediately prior to receiving the pass.

Was he a legal player? What sort of foul do you charge?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? rpirtle Basketball 3 Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm
NFHS Case Play 10.4.5 Situation E page 84 Robert E. Harrison Basketball 15 Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:21pm
Case Play ejstuart Soccer 3 Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am
NFHS 2002 Case book play 1.5.6 Mike Simonds Football 11 Mon Mar 03, 2003 12:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1