![]() |
|
|
|||
NFHS case play list?
Team A is behind by three points when A–1, in front of the team B bench, attempts a 3-point try at the horn. B-6 comes off the bench and blocks the ball just after A–1 releases the ball. Official charges team B with a flagrant technical foul and awards team A three free throws. Is the official correct?
--I remember this play as a NFHS case play on the website a few years back-but can't find it. Can anyone help me find it? If I remember correctly NFHS doesn't save them on the net so there was a thread that stored them on this message board somewhere-but I can't locate that either. |
|
|||
http://forum.officiating.com/search.php?searchid=339116
Do an advanced search on titles with the word "interps".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jul 06, 2011 at 08:35am. |
|
|||
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
What if A2 was fouled while in the act?
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Can a non-player commit a personal foul?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Exactly... I'm just thinking what if during the block, he knocks down the shooter as well?
But as you pointed out, a personal foul can only be committed by a legal "player".
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
A personal foul can only be committed by a player. In this case, the substitute would not be able to commit a personal foul.
However, I think the contact by the substitute is important in determiningwhether the act is unsporting, for the block shot only, or a flagrant, for the illegal contact. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Personally I'm still T'ing for the entering, and flagrant T for interfering...regardless of if it's a two or three
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
Therefore, such a foul would have to be a technical foul. I don't believe so. The basis of the NFHS ruling was that only one technical foul was not enough to compensate the offended team for being deprived of the three-point attempt since they could only score two points from the ensuing free throws, thus two technicals and four FTs were required for fairness. That would not be the case on a two-point attempt. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
NFHS Case Play 10.4.5 Situation E page 84 | Robert E. Harrison | Basketball | 15 | Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:21pm |
Case Play | ejstuart | Soccer | 3 | Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am |
NFHS 2002 Case book play 1.5.6 | Mike Simonds | Football | 11 | Mon Mar 03, 2003 12:45pm |