The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 11:40am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyBrown View Post
?????
Not if the grasping was done while control of the ball had been lost.

And if a player uses the rim to make a dunk possible (prolonging air time, gaining extra height, etc), ring him up.

And the exception is listed in 4-6, Basket Interference, not 10-3. There is no exception for player technicals during a dunk.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Mon Apr 11, 2011 at 01:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 11:48am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Not if the grasping was done while control of the ball had been lost.

And if a player uses the rim to make a dunk possible (prolonging air time, gaining extra height, etc), ring him up.

And the exception is listed in 4-6, Basket Interference, not 10-3. There is no exception for player technicals during a dunk.
Ignoring your list, are you?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 11:51am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Ignoring your list, are you?
He's getting quoted, which allows me to respond.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 11:54am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
He's getting quoted, which allows me to respond.
I've got the same problem..... Gapper had an issue with me quoting someone the other day and I told him I would try to avoid it in the future.....now, if I can only remember who it was.......
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:02pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
I've got the same problem..... Gapper had an issue with me quoting someone the other day and I told him I would try to avoid it in the future.....now, if I can only remember who it was.......
I really don't mind too much when it happens. If he starts asking intelligent questions and actually responding like a referee instead of a theologian, I can always adjust the list accordingly.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I really don't mind too much when it happens. If he starts asking intelligent questions and actually responding like a referee instead of a theologian, I can always adjust the list accordingly.
Like that's going to happen.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Not if the grasping was done while control of the ball had been lost.

And if a player uses the rim to make a dunk possible (prolonging air time, gaining extra height, etc), ring him up.

And the exception is listed in 4-6, Basket Interference, not 10-3. There is no exception for player technicals during a dunk.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Is this a serious question?
Which one, APG? tref did say control was lost, but what if it wasn't? What if, as Snaq seems to be picking up on (and tref in his subsequent post), A1 maintains control with one hand? Is he OK to go ahead and grab with the off-hand, followed by a grab with the dunking hand as he puts it through, as long as he hasn't prolonged or propelled, as Snaq points out?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:26pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyBrown View Post
Which one, APG? tref did say control was lost, but what if it wasn't? What if, as Snaq seems to be picking up on (and tref in his subsequent post), A1 maintains control with one hand? Is he OK to go ahead and grab with the off-hand, followed by a grab with the dunking hand as he puts it through, as long as he hasn't prolonged or propelled, as Snaq points out?
4-6-2
Exception: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continue after it enters the basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touche the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

The italicized part is my emphasis. In your play is A1's hand contacting the ball?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Mon Apr 11, 2011 at 12:41pm. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:38pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
4-6-2
Exception: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continue after it enters the basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touche the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

The initialized part is my emphasis. In your play is A1's hand contacting the ball?
Good point, the other important part is:
"is not basket interference." Behavior that is a technical foul without a dunk is not exempted because it happens during a dunk. The exception here is to the BI rule, not the TF rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
4-6-2
Exception: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continue after it enters the basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touche the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

The initialized part is my emphasis. In your play is A1's hand contacting the ball?
I was focusing on 10-3-4, APG--disregard BI in regards to my comments. 10-3-3 kept creeping in, and when tref brought up the dunk situation, I found it interesting, and wondered about the implications as far as technicals go. If A1 goes up for either a one- or two-handed dunk, initially, and then uses only one hand to dunk, but before doing so, grasps the ring with the off-hand, maintains control with the other, do we have a T (assume the grasp was not for safety considerations, as Jurassic points out)?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:50pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
4-6-2
Exception: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continue after it enters the basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touche the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.

The italicized part is my emphasis. In your play is A1's hand contacting the ball?
You never get this far. The ball is dead on the technical foul as soon as the player grabbed the ring with one hand before he dunked with his other hand.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyBrown View Post
Is he OK to go ahead and grab with the off-hand, followed by a grab with the dunking hand as he puts it through, as long as he hasn't prolonged or propelled, as Snaq points out?
Answered in post #41 of this thread.

This is exactly why you're constantly getting crapped on here. A question gets answered with corresponding rules citations. You refuse to believe the answer and then come up with all kinds of extraneous crap that have absolutely nothing to do with the discussion.

If you don't understand what is being discussed, you shouldn't be part of the discussion. It's that simple.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Answered in post #41 of this thread.

This is exactly why you're constantly getting crapped on here. A question gets answered with corresponding rules citations. You refuse to believe the answer and then come up with all kinds of extraneous crap that have absolutely nothing to do with the discussion.

If you don't understand what is being discussed, you shouldn't be part of the discussion. It's that simple.
Perhaps, but I'm wondering if others have a different view, considering that dunking is allowed, and that grasping is allowed while dunking. I know I have seen it numerous times where a player tries a two-handed dunk, believes or realizes it isn't going to happen, lets one hand slip off to grasp the rim, followed by the other hand driving the ball through, and a final two-handed grasp. On those occasions, I have never seen a T called.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
He's getting quoted, which allows me to respond.
Not under my ruleset.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1