![]() |
|
|
|||
very good, now this is different if the ball is in the front
court, get tipped to the back court by the defense, the official starts the back court count as soon as the ball crosses the division line, correct. |
|
|||
NFHS - Rule 9-8: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous "control" of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.
The count stops when the ball touches the floor (or rim/backboard) in the frontcourt or a player or official in the frontcourt. Rule 4-3 ... A ball in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or court. Just to contribute something ... ![]()
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
|
|||
And if B tips it toward the b/c & A catches it before it bounces in the b/c... nevermind
![]() Seriously though, keep in mind that the timeline is part of the b/c too. So the count could re-start by the ball touching when f/c has been established.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
||||
Good point. You could, conceivably, have a 10 second count started while waiting for a BC violation to occur. In fact, you should, in case B touches the ball first but doesn't gain control before an A player does regain control.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
||||
Let me see if I can find one. Oh yeah, here it is:
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
2008-09 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing toward the end line in A's backcourt while A1 and B1 give chase. B1 and A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin anew for Team A? RULING: The count starts as soon as the ball goes into the backcourt since team control has not ended. (4-12-3; 9-8)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Do you count the run? | UMP25 | Baseball | 68 | Wed May 17, 2006 02:05pm |
10 second count | Jay R | Basketball | 4 | Wed Mar 03, 2004 07:47pm |
Count it or not ? | GA ref | Basketball | 20 | Tue Mar 02, 2004 02:12am |
"L" 5 sec. count | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 27 | Fri Feb 20, 2004 01:24am |
run count or not? | chasbo | Softball | 10 | Thu Feb 19, 2004 09:55am |