The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,047
a) A4 is dribbling the ball in the BC, he puts one foot in the FC and returns it to the BC. Does the 10 second count continue or does he have a new 10 second count?

b) A4 is in the BC, he passes the ball to the FC with a count of 9 seconds. The ball bouces in the FC for two seconds before it is picked by A5. Does the 10 second count stop when the ball touches the FC or when the ball touches a player in the FC?

I believe these are simple questions. In a), no FC status so the count continues and in b)the count ends with FC status when the ball touches the floor in the FC. However, after a conversation with a fellow official, he put some doubts in my mind.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 365
a. count continues. never left back court.

b. count stops when the ball bounces in the front court. It has gained front court status. The count should continue if passed at 9 sec. and is still airborne at 10 seconds.

Ignore your official friend on these issues.
__________________
"referee the defense"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 426
Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007
Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
a. count continues. never left back court.

b. count stops when the ball bounces in the front court. It has gained front court status. The count should continue if passed at 9 sec. and is still airborne at 10 seconds.

Ignore your official friend on these issues.
Huh? There isn't a 10 sec violation if the ball is in the air or hasn't reached across the fc "plane". Did I just read this wrong?
__________________
~Hodges

My two sense!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 05:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by dhodges007
Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
b. count stops when the ball bounces in the front court. It has gained front court status. The count should continue if passed at 9 sec. and is still airborne at 10 seconds.
Huh? There isn't a 10 sec violation if the ball is in the air or hasn't reached across the fc "plane". Did I just read this wrong?

[/B]
Footlocker is referring to this play: if the ball is passed from the back court, and the count reaches 10 seconds when it is still in the air(no matter whether the ball is over the FC or BC), it's a 10-second violation because the ball has never attained front-court status. NFHS case book play 9.8SitA.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 426
Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007
Oh, thanks!
__________________
~Hodges

My two sense!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1