The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2011, 04:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
No, 7.5.3(d) is not identical, because the interruption in my situation occurs "during a throw-in." 7.5.3(d) occurs duing a try; since the try is successful, the applicable rule is 4-36-2b, "a team is entitled to such."
Because you read into POI's definition at 2b what is not written there, you disregard Rule 7, the rule that governs TIs, and Resumption-of-Play Procedures. 7-5-7 is dispositive. Your entire hang-up with every substantive point we have debated in this thread stems from your reliance on your conceptualization of a mere definition in spite of other rules to the contrary. Nevada pointed this out to you. I thought you accepted his correction, but obviously not.

CB 7.5.3(d) interprets 7-5-7. It tells us that 7-5-7 does not strip the non-scoring team of a NDTI in the case of an IW when it occurs during a live ball, no team control, with a goal involved. These conditions are facts that are not altered by you referring to it as a "try". The material conditions are identical in both situations. As you pointed out, 7-5-7b mentions a couple of conditions in which the ND privilege is retained, but it does not say those are the only conditions where it is retained. If they intended what you are suggesting, they would have added the word "only". They are simply expressing a couple of notable examples, and do not say those two are exhaustive. Stating otherwise would be reading into the rules something not written, again. Your reading of 7-5-7b is disproven by CB 7.5.3(d), because the condition in CB 7.5.3(d) is not one of the conditions mentioned in 7-5-7b, yet ND is maintained, anyway. Why would it be retained before the goal, while the ball is in flight, but not after the goal while it is at the disposal of the non-scoring team? You can provide no material difference between those two situations, and I can provide those three material commonalities.

I'm not ignoring it; it's quite the indictment of your ability to read the rules, actually. 4-36-2c applies to situations where there is no team control, throw-in, or free throw involved.
Just quote 2c. 2c says nothing about self-exclusion in the case of TI or FT. You are folding 2b into 2c's parameters. Quote 2c in its entirety, and only 2c! Your APTI situation meets 2c, period. Forget 2b. Nothing says to ignore 2c if there is a TI involved. You are reading that in. If you just can't let go of 2b, think of 2b prescribing a TI, and 2c prescribing that the TI will be an APTI. No where does the language of the definition instruct us to ignore 2c when 2b works.

Last edited by RandyBrown; Sun Apr 03, 2011 at 11:36am.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2011, 04:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
Quote:
If you want to quote mutliple posts
Got it.

Quote:
Why don't they archive it?
I suppose so. In regard to their interpretations, how do you read their caveat, "They do not set aside nor modify any rule."?
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2011, 06:54am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyBrown View Post
In regard to their interpretations, how do you read their caveat, "They do not set aside nor modify any rule."?
I read it as saying that they're interpreting the rule.

But whatinthehell do I know?
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2011, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
I read it as saying that they're interpreting the rule.
That may have gone without saying, Jurassic. I'm more interested in what Snaq seemed to be saying in posts 107 and 112, that these interpretations are never "designed" to change a rule, but sometimes do--in some sense. Obviously, if the publishing of these interpretations sometimes results in changing the existing interpretations of a significant number of officials, the effect approaches a rules change. If you've ever experienced that, yourself, do you always react with a "thank you" to the drafters for setting you straight, or have you sometimes determined they have changed a rule, and reject the interpretation on those grounds.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Foul and Double Technical routhless Basketball 10 Sat Jan 30, 2010 09:53am
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
Throw-in, Double Foul tjones1 Basketball 48 Wed Oct 22, 2008 02:06pm
Double Foul During Free Throw cropduster Basketball 63 Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am
Double foul on throw-in clarification blindzebra Basketball 2 Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1