The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 02, 2011, 07:46pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Hint 1: use "copy" and then use "paste" if you want to break quotes up in a away that your answers are easily quotable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyBrown View Post
And, . . .? You haven't made an argument. All you have done, here, is restate the book. My argument presupposes your "notes," and you leave my argument untouched. You have to make a counter-argument and/or dismantle mine. Do you disagree that CB 7.5.3(d) is materially identical to your situation, for example?
I dismantled your argument, but you weren't paying attention. No, 7.5.3(d) is not identical, because the interruption in my situation occurs "during a throw-in." 7.5.3(d) occurs duing a try; since the try is successful, the applicable rule is 4-36-2b, "a team is entitled to such." Now, the applicable rule is the same for my play, because "the interruption occurred during this activity." Just to make my point clear; the phrases themselves refer to different situations but result in the same resolution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyBrown View Post
You are struggling to hold on to what you read in to 4-36-2b at the beginning of this thread, by using an anolgy to inadvertent whistle. The books treat them differently, I say. I also say you ignore my argument, and can make none of your own, because you are blinded by your original conception of this matter. Let go. Drink the Federation cool-aid. Let the rules as written guide you to the truth.
It's not an analogy; the point is the rule is identical for the two situations, yet you want to treat them differently.

If you think you have to go to a standard throw-in in one, you have to do it in the other case as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyBrown View Post
As usual, you ignore my answer, and my argument. 4-36-2c is staring you in the face, but you only have eyes for 2b.
I'm not ignoring it; it's quite the indictment of your ability to read the rules, actually. 4-36-2c applies to situations where there is no team control, throw-in, or free throw involved. Example: 7.5.3(c). Another example would be a double foul committed after a throw-in pass is tipped but before it is controled by a player inbounds. You can't use it for an interruption during a throw-in; ever. Otherwise, you should be going AP (for the wrong reason) on the initial play in question.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Sat Apr 02, 2011 at 08:39pm.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Foul and Double Technical routhless Basketball 10 Sat Jan 30, 2010 09:53am
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
Throw-in, Double Foul tjones1 Basketball 48 Wed Oct 22, 2008 02:06pm
Double Foul During Free Throw cropduster Basketball 63 Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am
Double foul on throw-in clarification blindzebra Basketball 2 Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1