The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Inbounds

High school game - With timeout following a basket, a player runs the baseline but takes a nonchalantly dribbles once then passes it to a player who hits a halfcourt shot to win the game. I say this is illegal, since the player dribbles the ball rather than in bounding it directly. Am I correct?

Here it is:
http://www.facebook.com/video/video....73470&comments

Last edited by nero21; Sat Mar 05, 2011 at 01:43pm. Reason: added video
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:44pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
You are incorrect. It is perfectly legal to "dribble" the ball during a throw-in. Also, it matters not if it's a designated or undesignated throw-in.

The play that you posted is perfectly legal. The only thing that came even close to being a violation was the thrower stepping inbounds, and that wasn't even that close.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Sat Mar 05, 2011 at 01:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
OK, was unsure of this...

especially when player can run the baseline. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Could a player in this situation bounce pass it to a teammate to inbound, since they would be able to pass the ball across the baseline to another out of bounds player to inbound?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 01:53pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by nero21 View Post
Could a player in this situation bounce pass it to a teammate to inbound, since they would be able to pass the ball across the baseline to another out of bounds player to inbound?
No. That would be a throw-in violation for failing to throw the ball directly inbounds. They would be able to bounce pass to another teammate whom is also out of bounds on the endline during an undesignated spot throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
That is what I meant, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
It was a great ending, but a parent of the opposing team was arrested for confronting an official after the game. I don't know if it was about this play in particular or the entire game. Pretty sad though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 08:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
For the record, he could dribble and do the two-step even if it was a spot throw-in; so long as he didn't leave the designated three-foot spot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2011, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area
before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the
out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.

9.2.2 SITUATION A: Thrower A1: (a) causes the ball to carom from the wall
behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroms
the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throws
the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds
into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw touched
an object out of bounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of
the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same
as the floor inbounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbounds boss21 Basketball 7 Fri Jan 08, 2010 01:19pm
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? BoBo Football 3 Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am
inbounds hoopsrefBC Basketball 4 Sun Oct 01, 2000 01:05pm
inbounds pwarburt Basketball 8 Tue Jun 06, 2000 01:37pm
inbounds kent wilson Basketball 8 Fri Apr 07, 2000 03:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1