Thread: Inbounds
View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 06, 2011, 11:14pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Fight out what? You posted the case play.

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area
before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal.

There is no player control but the player has control of the ball.

A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

Player control is rule book defined term.

A thrower does not have player control but he is a player in control of the ball.

There's a difference.

Now, could the NFHS be more clear? Yes, but not describing different situations with similiar terms. But, oh well.
I'll disagree based upon the Rules Fundamental which states that neither the dribbling or traveling rules operate during a throw-in.

I don't care for the wording of the NFHS case play either. I'm with BillyMac on this one.
Reply With Quote